Vice-President, Parliament, Anglo-Indians, Speaker, Money Bill

Doorsteptutor material for Bank-PO is prepared by world's top subject experts: get questions, notes, tests, video lectures and more- for all subjects of Bank-PO.


  • Election: The Vice-President is elected by members of an electoral college consisting of the members of both Houses of Parliament. However, his election is different from that of the President as the state legislatures have no part in it.
  • Tenure: Five years and is eligible for immediate re- election.
  • Functions: (1) Acts as ex-officio Chairman of the Rajya Sabha. (2) Officiates as President in case of death, resignation or removal of the latter. (3) Functions as the President when the President is unable to discharge his functions due to illness, absence or any other cause.
  • Emoluments: Vice-President is entitled to a salary of ₹ 40,000 per month in his capacity as the Chairman of Rajya Sabha.

The Prime Minister

  • The Prime Minister of India heads the council of ministers. He is the leader of the party that enjoys a majority in the Lok Sabha. He is appointed by the President.
  • Tenure: Five years, and holds the office with the consent of the President till a new Lok Sabha is formed.
  • Resignation: If the government is defeated in the Lok Sabha (not in Rajya Sabha) , the cabinet as well as the Prime Minister have to resign.

Union Council of Ministers

  • The President appoints such person as Prime Minister whose leadership in the House (Lok Sabha) is explicitly recognised.
  • The other Ministers are appointed by the President on the advice of the Prime Minister and thus the Union Council of Ministers is formed to aid and advice the President in the exercise of his functions.
  • The Prime Minister is a link between the President and the Cabinet. The term ordinarily is for 5 years.


Parliament or the Central Legislature consists of the President and the two Houses:

  • The Rajya Sabha (Council of State) and the Lok Sabha (House of the People) . The President is an integral part of Parliament and all bills passed by Parliament must have his assent before they become law.
  • Parliament is to meet at least twice a year and at an interval of not more than six months between one session and another. The maximum strength of the two Houses is fixed at 545 for the Lok Sabha (not more than 525 from the States and 20 from the Union Territories) and 250 (12 nominated) for the Rajya Sabha.

Qualifications to Become a Member of Parliament

  • A person should be a citizen of India.
  • He should not be less than 30 years of age in order to fill a seat in Rajya Sabha and not less than 25 years of age to fill a seat in the Lok Sabha.
  • He should possess such other qualifications as may be prescribed under any law made by Parliament. He is also required to make and subscribe an oath or affirmation to bear the true faith and allegiance to the Constitution of India. A person is disqualified both for being chosen as, and for being, a Member of Parliament if he:
    • holds an office of profit under any Government in India, other than an office declared by Parliament by law not to disqualify its holder,
    • Is of unsound mind,
    • Is an undercharged insolvent,
    • Has voluntarily acquired the citizenship of a foreign State or
    • Is disqualified by or under any law made by Parliament.

Powers and Functions of Parliament

Parliament has vast legislative powers:

  • It can make laws on the subjects contained in the Union and Concurrent Lists.
  • In certain cases, Parliament can also make laws on the subjects mentioned in the State List.
  • It has vast financial powers. It passes the budget and authorises all the income and expenditure.
  • It exercises control over the executive.
  • The Lok Sabha or the House of the People has also a share in the election of the President and the Vice-President.

Rajya Sabha and Lok Sabha

Rajya Sabha (Council of State)

  • The elected members are representatives of the States and the nominated members are eminent men in art, literature, science and social services etc. The Rajya Sabha is a permanent body, i.e.. , it is not subject to dissolution. One third of its members retire after every two years. The elections to the Rajya Sabha are indirect.
  • The allotted quota of every State is elected by the elected members of the Legislative Assembly of that State.
  • The election is conducted in accordance with the system of proportional representation by a single transferable vote. The Vice-President is the ex-officio Chairman of the Rajya Sabha.

Lok Sabha (House of the People)

  • The number of seats to each State is allotted in such a way that the ratio between the number and the population of the State is, as far as practicable, the same for all States. Each member represents not less than 500,000 citizens.
  • The term ordinarily does not exceed 5 years.


  • The President may, if he is of the opinion that the Anglo-Indian community is not adequately represented in the Lok Sabha, nominate not more than two members of that community to the House of People (Lok Sabha) .
  • The Lok Sabha Secretariat comes under the direct supervision of the Speaker of the Lok Sabha. The Secretary General of the Lok Sabha, who is chief of the Secretariat, is appointed by the President of India as per Article 98 of the Constitution. Except in the case of Money Bills, the Constitution provides equality of status of the two Houses.
  • The Speaker is elected by members of the Lok Sabha for a period of 5 years. The term of the Lok Sabha can be extended for one year at a time. The Lok Sabha can be dissolved before the expiry of its normal term of five years by the President.


  • The House of the People elects a Speaker and a Deputy Speaker from among its members. The principal function of the Speaker is to preside over the meetings of the House in addition to other duties in connection with the internal affairs of the House of the People.

Money Bill

  • A Money Bill is not introduced in the Rajya Sabha which has no power over Money Bills. It can originate only in the Lok Sabha. In financial matters, the Lok Sabha is more powerful than the Rajya Sabha. After a Money Bill has been passed by the Lok Sabha, it is to be sent to the Rajya Sabha for its recommendations.
  • The Rajya Sabha cannot reject or amend a Money Bill by virtue of its own powers. If the Rajya Sabha does not return the Bill within fourteen days, it shall be deemed to have been passed by both Houses.

Developed by: