Communication and Transport, Pin Code Zones and Their Jurisdiction

Get top class preparation for IAS right from your home: Get detailed illustrated notes covering entire syllabus: point-by-point for high retention.

First Place where atom: Hiroshima

Bomb was dropped

First man to reach: Robert Peary

North Pole

First man to climb: Sherpa Sungau (Nepal)

Mount Everest

First man to walk in space: Alexi Leonov (USSR)

First Governor General: Mohammed Ali Jinnah of Pakistan

First oldest man to scale: Mario Curris Mount Everest

First Commander-in-Chief: General Roy Bucher of Free India

First Emperor of: Babar Moghul Dynasty

First Field Marshal: S. H. F. J. Manekshaw of India

First Indian ICS Officer: Satyendra Nath

Tagore First Indian Member: Sir S. P. Sinha

Of Viceroy՚s Executive Council

First man to climb: Phu Dorjee Mount Everest without Oxygen

First Tolkie Film: Alam Ara (1931)

First Test Tube Baby: Indira (Documented)

First Woman Minister: Rajkumar Amrit Kaur of Indian Union

First Woman: Sucheta Kriplani

Chief Minister of State

First Woman Governor: Sarojini Naidu

First Woman President of: Dr. Annie Besant

Indian National Congress

First Woman Speaker of a: Shanno Devi

State Assembly

First Prime Minister of India: Pandit Jawaharlal Nehru

First Muslim President of: Dr. Zakir Hussain

Indian Union

First Speaker of Lok Sabha: G. V. Mavlankar

First Woman Judge in: Fathima Beevi

Supreme Court

First Woman Chief Justice: Leela Seth

Of a High Court

First Indian Woman to go: Kalpana Chawla

In space

First Indian Woman: Sonali Banerjee

Merchant Navy Officer

First Dalit Speaker of the: G. M. C. Balayoki

Lok Sabha

Communication and Transport

Postal Service in India

Postal Service in India
First Postal Service was started in1837
First All-India Postal Stamp was issued1854
First Postal Department was opened1854
First Money Order was started in1880
First Air-Mail Service was first operated at Allahabad & Nainital1911
Total No. of Postal Zones8
PINCODE was started in the year1972

Pin Code Zones and Their Jurisdiction

Pin Code Zones and Their Jurisdiction
Pin code ZoneJurisdiction
Zone No. 1Delhi, Haryana, Punjab, Chandigarh, Himachal Pradesh, Jammu & Kashmir
Zone No. 2Uttar Pradesh
Zone No. 3Rajasthan, Gujarat, Daman & Diu, Dadra & Nagar Haveli
Zone No. 4Maharashtra, Goa & Madhya Pradesh
Zone No. 5Andra Pradesh and Karnataka
Zone No. 6Tamil Nadu, Kerala & Lakshadweep
Zone No. 7West Bengal, Orissa, Arunachal Pradesh, Assam, Manipur, Meghalaya, Nagaland, Tripura and Andaman & Nicobar Islands
Zone No. 8Bihar

Developed by: