National Rural Livelihood Mission and National Mission for Enhanced Energy Efficiency

Get top class preparation for IAS right from your home: Get detailed illustrated notes covering entire syllabus: point-by-point for high retention.

National Rural Livelihood Mission (NRLM)

Approved in 2010, it is the restructured form of the centrally sponsored Swarna Jayanti Gram Swarozgar Yojana (SGSY) . NRLM aims at reducing poverty through promotion of diversified and gainful self-employment and skilled wage employment opportunities. It will have the objective of universal social mobilization and training and capacity building through larger role for SHGs and formation of people՚s institutions for promoting micro enterprises.

National Mission for Enhanced Energy Efficiency (NMEEE)

Implementation plan approved in June 2010.

NMEEE is one of the eight national missions with the objective of promoting innovative policy and regulatory regimes, financing mechanisms, and business models which not only create, but also sustain markets for energy efficiency in a transparent manner with clear deliverables to be achieved in a time bound manner. NMEEE proposes the following four new initiatives to enhance energy efficiency, in addition to the programmes on energy efficiency being currently pursued:

  • A market-based mechanism to enhance cost effectiveness of improvements in energy efficiency in energy-intensive large industries. The trading of energy saving certificates would facilitate this process (Perform Achieve and Trade) .
  • Accelerating the shift to energy efficient appliances in designated sectors through innovative measures to make the products more affordable. (Market Transformation for Energy Efficiency) .
  • Creation of mechanisms that would help finance demand side management programmes in all sectors by capturing future energy savings. {Energy Efficiency Financing Platform (EEP) } .
  • Developing fiscal instruments to promote energy efficiency namely Framework for Energy Efficient Economic Development (FEEED) .

National Afforestation Programme

The National Afforestation Programme provides assistance to the Forest Development Agencies for implementing projects to regenerate degraded forest lands though the participation of Joint Forest Management Committees. The two components of ‘Training and Capacity Building’ and ‘Overheads’ envisage activities for inter alia capacity building of Forest Development Agencies.

Rashtriya Krishi Vikas Yojana (RKVY)

The RKVY was operationalised with effect from August 2007 to achieve 4 % annual growth in the agriculture sector by ensuring a holistic development of agriculture and allied sectors. The scheme aims at incentivising States to increase public investment in agriculture and allied sectors and enable them to generate additional growth in agriculture and allied sectors through better planning and by undertaking appropriate growth-oriented projects to achieve this goal.

Pradhan Mantri Adarsh Gram Yojana (PMAGY)

Lunched in 2009, PMAGY aims to achieve all-round, integrated development of selected villages (SC dominated) primarily, through convergent implementation of all relevant Central and State schemes in them, and by meeting needs through provision of “gap-filling” funds for which central assistance will be provided @ ₹ 10 lakh per village, with State Government also expected to make a suitable, preferably matching, contribution.

Rashtriya Gram Swaraj Yojana (RGSY)

The Rashtriya Gram Swaraj Yojana is a Centrally Sponsored Scheme being implemented by the Ministry of Panchayati Raj for the non-BRGF districts. The scheme focuses primarily on providing financial assistance to the States/UTs for Training & Capacity Building of elected representatives (ERs) and functionaries of Panchayati Raj Institutions (PRIs) so that they can perform the functions devolved upon them and the schemes entrusted to them effectively, besides a small component for infrastructure development.

Calamity Relief Fund

The list of calamities under the CRF eligible for assistance at present are: cyclone, drought, earthquake, tsunami, fire, flood, landslide, avalanche, cloud burst and pest attack.

Backward Region Grant Fund (BRGF)

BRGF is designed to redress regional imbalances in development. The fund will provide financial resources for supplementing and converging existing developmental inflows into 250 identified districts. It is being implemented by the Ministry of Panchayati Raj. Rashtriya Sam Vikas Yojana (RSVY) has been subsumed under this programme.

Rajiv Gandhi Grameen Vidyutikaran Yojana

  • Under the ministry of power.
  • Nodal Agency: Rural Electrification Corporation Ltd.
  • Launched in 2005 by merging the ongoing schemes.

Developed by: