Competitive Exams: Current Affairs 2011: Journalism

Get unlimited access to the best preparation resource for competitive exams : get questions, notes, tests, video lectures and more- for all subjects of your exam.

Journalism, Film and Television, Beauty Contest

Nisha Rajagopal, first recipient of The Hindu Saregama MS Subbulakshmi Award

  • Carnatic vocalist
  • An engineer by training

Femina Miss India 2011

Miss India World 2011 Kanishtha Dhankhar.

Miss India Earth 2011 Hasleen Kaur; and Miss India International 2011 Ankita Shorey

2011 Pulitzer Prize

  • The Los Angeles Times won tw-prizes, including the highest honor for Public Service.
  • The New York Times also won tw-awards.
  • N-prize was handed out in the Breaking News category.
  • The Wall Street Journal won an award for the first time since 2007.
  • Jennifer Egans A Visit From the Goon Squad picked up the Fiction prize after already winning the 2010

National Book Critics Circle Award

  • Photographer Carol Guzy of The Washington Post became the first journalist to win four Pulitzer Prizes.
  • Special: Indian-American physician Siddhartha Mukherjee s acclaimed book on cancer, The Emperor of All Maladies: A Biography of Cancer, has won the prestigious 2011 Pulitzer Prize in the general non-fiction category.
  • The Pulitzer Prize is a US award for achievements in newspaper and online journalism, literature and musical composition. It was established by Jewisho American publisher Joseph Pulitzer and is administered by Columbia University in New York City.
  • Prizes are awarded yearly in twenty-one categories. In twenty of these, each winner receives a certificate and a US $ 10,000 cash award.
  • The winner in the public service category of the journalism competition is awarded a gold medal, which always goes to a newspaper, although an individual may be named in the citation. Dadasaheb Phalke Award to K. Balachander
  • the veteran film maker, has been conferred the Dadasaheb Phalke Award for the year 2010.
  • The award consists of a Swarn Kamal, a cash prize of ₹ 10 lakhs and a shawl.
  • Shri K. Balachander has been film director, screen play writer and producer for more than 45 years. He has written, directed and produced more than 100 films in Tamil, Telugu, Hindi and Kannada.
  • The films he scripts and directs analyze unusual or complicated inter-personal relationships and social themes.
  • He has been responsible for bringing int-limelight many stars of the present day, including Rajnikanth, Kamal Haasan, Prakashraaj and Vivek.
  • He entered the film industry in 1965 and shot int-fame with his very first film Neerkumizhi starring Nagesh.
  • He was conferred the Padma Shri in 1987. Chameli Devi Jain award for Outstanding Woman Media Person
  • Open magazine correspondent Shahina K K
  • a former Tehelka correspondent from Thiruvananthapuram

Courtesy: The Hindu and Times of India