Competitive Exams: Current Affairs 2011: Literary Awards

Get top class preparation for competitive exams right from your home: get questions, notes, tests, video lectures and more- for all subjects of your exam.

Literary Awards

2010 Booker Prize

British writer and journalist Howard Jacobson՚s novel The Finkler Question, a semi-autobiographical comic take on

Jewish identity, is the winner of this year՚s Man Booker Prize.

  • The Man Booker Prize for Fiction is a literary prize awarded each year for the best original full-length novel, written in the English language, by a citizen of the Commonwealth of Nations, Ireland, or Zimbabwe.
  • Prize money-50,000 Pounds.
  • In 1971, the nature of the Prize was changed so that it was awarded to novels published in that year instead of in the previous year; therefore, no novel published in 1970 could win the Booker Prize. This was rectified in 2010 by the awarding of the Lost Man Booker Prize to J. G. Farrell՚s Troubles.
  • In 1993, the Booker of Bookers Prize was awarded to Salman Rushdie for Midnight՚s Children (the 1981 winner) , as the best novel to win the award in the first 25 years of its existence. A similar prize known as The Best of the Booker was awarded in 2008 to celebrate the 40th anniversary of the prize this was also won by Midnight՚s Children

DSC Prize for South Asian Literature

DSC Prize for South Asian Literature is a new literary prize to be awarded annually to writers of any ethnicity or nationality writing about South Asia. It is for an original full-length novel written in English, or translated into English.

The prize is sponsored by DSC Limited, an Indian infrastructure and construction company.

Winner 2011 − H. M. Naqvi, Karachi-based novelist for his debut novel Home Boy.

  • Note: Writer and academic Amit Chaudhuri՚s novel The Immortals was among the six books shortlisted.

Courtesy: The Hindu and Times of India

Developed by: