Competitive Exams: Current Affairs 2011: National Honours

Glide to success with Doorsteptutor material for NTSE/Stage-II-National-Level : get questions, notes, tests, video lectures and more- for all subjects of NTSE/Stage-II-National-Level.

National Honours

President Confers Gallantry and Distinguished Service Awards

  • Kirti Chakras (3)
  • Shaurya Chakras (18)
  • Uttam Yudh Seva Medals (2)
  • Param Vishisht Seva Medals (13)
  • Ati Vishisht Seva Medals (27)
  • Captain Deepak Sharma of the Corps of Signals, who lost his life fighting militants in Jammu and Kashmir in March last year, received the Kirti Chakra.
  • Military honors and Decorations in India
  • Wartime Param Vir Chakra
  • Maha Vir Chakra
  • Vir Chakra
  • Peacetime Ashoka Chakra
  • Kirti Chakra
  • Shaurya Chakra
  • Wartime/Peacetime
  • Service & Gallantry
  • Sena Medal (Army)
  • Na-Sena Medal (Navy)
  • Vayusena Medal (Air Force)
  • Wartime Distinguished Service
  • Sarvottam Yudh Seva Medal
  • Uttam Yudh Seva Medal
  • Yudh Seva Medal
  • Peacetime Distinguished Service
  • Param Vishisht Seva Medal
  • Ati Vishisht Seva Medal
  • Vishisht Seva Medal

UIDAI Commences Aadhaar Governance Award

Unique Identification Authority of India (UIDAI) has instituted an Aadhaar Governance Award. The award is instituted to acknowledge, recognise and reward the extraordinary and innovative work done by District

Collectors/Deputy Commissioners in using the Aadhaar number to improve the service delivery in their respective districts for more transparent, efficient and effective governance.

Nirmal Gram Puraskar (NGP) 2010

  • Only 2,808 gram panchayats and just one block panchayat have been chosen for the 2010 award
  • the number of awards has been falling drastically since the last tw-years, after reaching the peak in 2008 when 12,144 panchayats, 112 blocks and eight zila parishads bagged the awards.
  • Sikkim has been the first Nirmal State in the country having achieved full sanitation coverage.
  • Maharashtra is the biggest beneficiary during the 2010 awards with 694 panchayats set to get the reward, followed by Madhya Pradesh at 344, Haryana at 259 and Tamil Nadu at 237.
  • Total Sanitation Campaign (TSC) is a comprehensive program to ensure sanitation facilities in rural areas with the broader goal to eradicate the practice of open defecation. To add vigour to the TSC, in October 2003, Government of India initiated an incentive scheme named the Nirmal Gram Puraskar (NGP) . NGP is given to those open defecation free Nirmal Gram Panchayats, Blocks, and Districts which have become fully sanitized. The incentive provision is for Panchayati Raj Institutions (PRIs) as well as individuals and organizations that are the driving force for full sanitation coverage.
  • A Nirmal Gram is an Open Defecation Free village where all houses, Schools and Anganwadis having sanitary toilets and awareness amongst community on the importance of maintaining personal and community hygiene and clean environment.
  • The concept of Nirmal Gram Puraskar has been acclaimed internationally as a unique tool of social engineering and community mobilization and has helped a difficult program like rural sanitation to pick up. After TSC was launched in 1999, average coverage between 2001 to 2004 rose to 3 % annually. After NGP was launched in 2004, the average coverage has gone up by about 7 − 8 % every year.
  • Each Gram Panchayat getting the NGP has been creating ripple effect in the surrounding villages.
  • The rewards range from ₹ 50,000 to ₹ 5 lakh for gram panchayats, depending upon their population. In the case of blocks, it varies from ₹ 10 lakh to ₹ 20 lakh, while for the zila parishads it ranges from ₹ 30 lakh to ₹ 50 lakh.

Women and Child Development Ministry

Presented Stree Shakti Puraskar 2010 on International Womens Day

Rani Lakshmibai Award

Mrs. Pottabathini Padmavathi from Andhra Pradesh, who did not allow her disability to become and adversity and faced the challenge positively to learn music and become an established artist.

Kannagi Award Mrs Thagu Maya Bardewa from Sikkim, who has done great work helping people in distress, orphans, widows and destitutes.

Rani Gaidinliu Zeliang Award

Mrs. Rathnamma from Karnataka, for her extensive work for awareness generation on child labour and eradication of dowry, early marriage, untouchability and sexual harassment.

Devi Ahilyabai Holkar Award

Mrs. Monika S. Garg an officer of the 1989 batch of Indian Administrative service from Uttar Pradesh for her outstanding work for empowerment of women through promoting their participation in Government Programs.

Note: The Mata Jijabai and Rani Rudrama devi awards were not awarded to anyone this year.

Courtesy: The Hindu and Times of India