Competitive Exams: Current Affairs 2011: Prizes

Doorsteptutor material for competitive exams is prepared by world's top subject experts: get questions, notes, tests, video lectures and more- for all subjects of your exam.


World Famous 2011 Abel Prize awarded to John Willard Milnor

  • John Willard Milnor of the Institute for Mathematical Sciences in the University of Stony Brook, USA.
  • For his pioneering discoveries in topology, geometry and algebra.

The Prize is given in recognition of contributions of extraordinary depth and influence to mathematical sciences and has been awarded annually since 2003. The Prize is named after the great Norwegian mathematical genius, Niels Henrik Abel (1802 − 29) , often compared with the Indian wizard Srinivasa Ramanujan, who died at a very young age of 26.

It has often been described as the mathematicians Nobel prize and is among the most prestigious awards in mathematics. It comes with a monetary award of six million Norwegian kroner (approx US $ 992,000) .


Saraswati Samman for Kannada Writer

  • Kannada writer S. L. Bhyrappa for his novel Mandra.
  • He is one of the bestselling novelists in Kannada over the past 25 years.
  • ₹ 7.50 lakh, a citation and a plaque.

Bihari Puraskar for Girdhar Rathi

Noted poet Girdhar Rathi has been selected for the Bihari Puraskar for 2010 for his poetry collection Anta Ke Sanshaya.

  • The Bihari Puraskar, instituted by the K. K. Birla Foundation in 1991, is only for Rajasthani writers and carries a citation, a plaque and prize money of ₹ 1 lakh.
  • Girdhar Rathi was born in Pipariya village of Madhya Pradesh although his ancestral family is from Jaisalmer in Rajasthan 2010 Vyas Samman for Vishwanath Prasad Tiwari
  • Noted Hindi writer Vishwanath Prasad Tiwari has been selected for the prestigious Vyas Samman for 2010 for his collection of poems, Phir Bhi Kuch Rah Jayega.
  • Tiwari was born in Bherihari village now the rural region of Kushinagar in Gorakhpur in Uttar Pradesh.

K. K. Birla Foundation

The K K Birla Foundation was established in 1991 by Krishna Kumar Birla. Its mission is to promote literature (especially Hindi literature) and the arts, as well as education and social work. It regularly gets mentioned in the media for the awards it confers, including:

  • the Saraswati Samman (Rs7.5 lakh) for prose/poetry work in any Indian language included in Schedule VIII to the Constitution of India (currently-22) , published in the past 10 years.
  • the Vyas Samman (₹ 2.5 lakh) for prose/poetry work in Hindi
  • the Bihari Puraskar (₹ 1 lakh) for prose/poetry work in Hindi/Rajasthani, only authors from Rajasthan are eligible
  • the Shankar Puraskar (₹ 1.5 lakh) for a work in Hindi concerning Indian philosophy, culture and/or art
  • the Vachaspati Puraskar (₹ 1 lakh) for any work in Sanskrit
  • the G D Birla Award for scientific research (₹ 1.5 lakh) .

Rohinton Mistry in Race for Man Booker

India-born Canadian writer Rohinton Mistry, American master of letters Philip Roth and British spy novelist John le Carre are among the 13 finalists for the 1060,000 Man Booker International Prize.

  • The Man Booker International Prize is a biennial international literary award given to a living author of any nationality for fiction published in English or generally available in English translation.
  • The award, sponsored by the Man Group and established in 2005 to complement the Man Booker Prize, rewards one writers overall achievement in literature and their significant influence on writers and readers worldwide.
  • The award is therefore a recognition of the writers body of work, rather than any one title. Indu Sharma Katha Samman
  • Indian novelist Vikas Kumar Jha has been chosen for the 2011 International Indu Sharma Katha Samman, for his novel McCluskieganj.
  • The International Indu Sharma Katha Samman was instituted (by Katha UK) in the memory of poetess and short story writer Indu Sharma who died of cancer in 1995.

Courtesy: The Hindu and Times of India