Competitive Exams: Current Affairs 2011: Stree Shakti Purushkar

Get unlimited access to the best preparation resource for competitive exams : get questions, notes, tests, video lectures and more- for all subjects of your exam.

Stree Shakti Purushkar

As a measure of recognition of achievements of individual women in the field of social development, the

Government of India has instituted six national awards which are to be called Stree Shakti Puraskar. These awards are in the name of the following eminent women personalities in the Indian history who are famous for their personal courage and integrity:

  1. Devi Ahilya Bai Holkar
  2. Kanngi
  3. Mata Jijabai
  4. Rani Gaindenlou Zehang
  5. Rani lakshmi Bai
  6. Rani Rudramma Devi (For Both men & women)

The award will carry a cash prize of ₹ 1 lakh and a citation. The awards will be given to women who have triumphed over difficult circumstances and have fought for and established the rights of women in various fields.

It is envisaged that women who have worked for the support and rehabilitation of women and children in especially difficult circumstances such as destitute women, widows, old aged and disabled women and victims of atrocities and conflicts would be awarded. Also, achievements of women who have worked in the areas of education, health, agriculture and rural industry, protection of forests and environment and those who have created awareness and consciousness on women՚s issues through arts and media would be recognized and awarded by the Government.

One of the awards will be given towards recognition of personal achievements by a woman in difficult circumstances.

Courtesy: The Hindu and Times of India

Developed by: