18th SAARC Summit 2014-At Kathmandu, Nepal

Glide to success with Doorsteptutor material for competitive exams : get questions, notes, tests, video lectures and more- for all subjects of your exam.


  • the eight member states of Foreign Ministers signed an agreement on energy cooperation namely ‘SAARC Framework Agreement for Energy Cooperation (Electricity) ’ 18th SAARC Summit on 27 November in the presence of their heads of state and government during the finishing ceremony. Although Pakistan stalled, citing insufficient internal preparations, signing of two other agreements on Vehicular Traffic and Railways respectively.
  • Prime Minister Sushil Koirala of Nepalese, current SAARC Chair, expressed his goal that the ‘Regulation of Passenger and Cargo Vehicular Traffic amongst SAARC Member States’ and ‘SAARC Regional Agreement on Railways’ would be signed later after the Transport Ministers of these countries reviewed them. It was also decided that Pakistan will host the next summit in 2016.
  • The India-Pakistan stand-off on the first day threatened to jeopardize the entire summit process as Pakistan looked of blocking every India managed proposals.
Illustration 1 for 18th SAARC Summit 2014-At Kat …


  • South Asian Association for Regional Cooperation (SAARC) , an organization established thirty years ago to achieve regional ties, hosted its 18th summit in Kathmandu, Nepal.
  • previous SAARC summits, several South Asian heads of state referred to the region՚s lack of organization in their public statements.
  • Prime Minister of India Narendra Modi explain how “today, goods travel from one Punjab to the other Punjab through Delhi, Mumbai, Dubai and Karachi-making the journey 11 times longer and the cost four times more.”


  • On 27 November in KATHMANDU-The 18th SAARC Summit has decided at the National City Hall in Kathmandu on Thursday. The Summit decided with the endorsement of the 36-point Kathmandu Declaration Letter.
  • The leaders from the SAARC member nations had gone to the Dwarikas Resort in Kavre district in morning.
  • except Narendra Modi Indian Prime Minister, were flown by Nepal Army helicopters. Modi flew on an Indian Air Force helicopter which he brought with himself in Kathmandu.


The following heads of state of the eight member countries participated in the summit in Kathmandu.

  1. Afghanistan-Ashraf Ghani
  2. Bangladesh-Sheikh Hasina.
  3. Bhutan-Tshering Tobgay
  4. India-Narendra Modi
  5. Maldives-Abdulla Yameen
  6. Nepal-Sushil Koirala
  7. Pakistan-Sushil Koirala
  8. Sri Lanka-Mahinda Rajapaksa