10 Coastal Police Stations Notified by Union Home Ministry


For creating 10 coastal police stations across India’s coastline in 9 States and 4 UTs the Union Home Ministry has notified official gazette notification. With this polis station it will empower the register and investigate crimes committed within the country’s exclusive economic zone (EEZ).

  • Their establishment will end the uncertainty over territorial authority in the rouse of Italian marine’s case.
  • These 10 coastal police stations are:
  1. Yellow Gate PS (Maharashtra and Daman and Diu)
  2. Navibandar coastal PS (Gujarat)
  3. Mangalore coastal security PS (Karnataka)
  4. Harbour coastal security PS (Goa)
  5. B5 Harbour PS (Tamil Nadu and Puducherry)
  6. Fort Kochi coastal PS (Kerala and Lakshadweep)
  7. Paradeep marine PS (Odisha)
  8. Gilakaladindi PS in Machilipatnam (Andhra Pradesh)
  9. Central Crimes Station
  10. Port Blair (Andaman and Nicobar Islands)
  11. Nayachar coastal PS (West Bengal)
  • The postponement of jurisdictional limits will permit local police for effectively deal with cases of terrorism and trafficking and further help guarding 7516-km long coastline of India.


  • India has a 7, 517-km coastline and has 12 major ports and 187 minor or midway ports.
  • At 12 nautical miles India’s territorial waters get end while the EEZ stretches to 200 nautical miles from the coast.
  • Legal Terminology

1. Exclusive Economic Zone (EEZ):

  • It contains the contiguous zone, stretching to 200 nautical miles from the coast.

2. Continental shelf:

  • It is the seabed up to 350 nautical miles from the coastal starting point, out there the EEZ were countries also have rights.
  • However such areas are not part of their EEZ.
  • The legal definition of the mainland shelf does not unswervingly agree to the geological denotation of the term.
  • It also comprises the central rise and slope, and the entire seabed within the EEZ.

- Published/Last Modified on: June 20, 2016