14 States, UTs achieve literacy rate of 80%: Government


Union Government has declared that 14 States and Union Territories (UTs) have achieved or surpassed the literacy rate of 80 percent. These 14 States and UTs are Kerala, Lakshadweep, Mizoram, Goa, Tripura, Daman and Diu, Andaman and Nicobar Islands, NCR- Delhi, Chandigarh, Puducherry, Himachal Pradesh, Maharashtra, Sikkim and Tamil Nadu as declared by Smriti Irani, Union Human Resource Development Minister.

What is Literacy?

Literacy rate is defined as the total percentage of the population of an area at a particular time in which from age seven years or above who can read and write with understanding.

What is Union Territory?

A union territory is a type of administrative division in the Republic of India. Union territories are ruled directly by Central Government, while states have their own elected governments, hence the name ‘union territory’. Union territories in India qualify as central territories.

Schemes of Government

Union Government’s scheme of Sarva Shiksha Abhiyan has helped to improve literacy rate. Another scheme, Saakshar Bharat Programme has covered the literacy of adults. Saakshar Bharat Programme was also announced that 10 States (Punjab, Chandigarh, Nagaland, Mizoram, Tripura, Meghalaya, Goa, Lakshadweep, Kerala and Andaman and Nicobar Islands) and UTs have also been able to reduce gender gap to 10 percent or less.

- Published/Last Modified on: July 24, 2015