18 Biosphere Reserves in India (Download PDF)

Doorsteptutor material for CLAT is prepared by world's top subject experts: fully solved questions with step-by-step explanation- practice your way to success.

Biosphere Reserve (BR) is an international designation by UNESCO for representative parts of natural and cultural landscapes extending over large area of terrestrial, coastal, or marine ecosystems or a combination.

Location of 18 Biosphere Reserves in India
Biosphere Reserves in India
  • Designated to deal with conservation of biodiversity together with economic and social development and maintenance of cultural values
  • Special environments with human beings and nature mutual co-existing.
  • There are 18 Biosphere Reserves in the country. List of Biosphere Reserves is given in the Annexure.

Biosphere Reserve Programme

  • Guided by UNESCO Man and Biosphere (MAB) programme with India as signatory to the landscape approach supported by MAB programme.
  • Biosphere Reserve Scheme implemented by India since 1986 with financial assistance of 90: 10 ratio to the North Eastern Region States and three Himalayan states and in ratio of 60: 40 for other states.
  • State Government prepares the Management Action Plan approved and monitored by Central MAB Committee

About Man and Biosphere (MAB) Programme

  • Launched in 1971
  • UNESCO՚s Man and the Biosphere Programme (MAB) an Intergovernmental Scientific Programme to establish scientific basis for the improvement of relationships between people and their environments.
  • Combines the natural and social sciences, economics and education to improve human livelihoods
  • Provides equitable sharing of benefits to safeguard natural and managed ecosystems promoting innovative approaches to economic development that are socially and culturally appropriate, and environmentally sustainable.
  • World Network of Biosphere Reserves currently includes 669 sites in 120 countries, including 20 transboundary sites.

List of Biosphere Reserves

  1. Cold Desert, Himachal Pradesh
  2. Nanda Devi, Uttrakhand
  3. Khangchendzonga, Sikkim
  4. Dehang-Debang, Arunachal Pradesh
  5. Manas, Assam
  6. Dibru-Saikhowa, Assam
  7. Nokrek, Meghalaya
  8. Panna, Madhya Pradesh
  9. Pachmarhi, Madhya Pradesh
  10. Achanakmar-Amarkantak, Madhya Pradesh-Chattisgarh
  11. Kachchh, Gujarat
  12. Similipal, Odisha
  13. Sundarban, West Bengal
  14. Seshachalam, Andhra Pradesh
  15. Agasthyamala, Karnataka-Tamil Nadu-Kerala
  16. Nilgiri, Tamil Nadu-Kerala
  17. Gulf of Mannar, Tamil Nadu
  18. Great Nicobar, Andaman & Nicobar Island

- Published/Last Modified on: September 1, 2017


Developed by: