19th SAARC Summit Hosting by Pakistan in Islamabad


19th South Asian Association for Regional Cooperation (SAARC) Summit meeting of the head of states or head of government of the eight SAARC countries will be kicked off in Islamabad a capital city and Murree of Pakistan on 9th and 10th November 2016 and nine observers of SAARC also invited to attend the Summit.

  • Previously the 18th edition of SAARC Summit was held in Kathmandu, Nepal in November 2014 and its theme was “Deeper Integration for Peace and Prosperity”.
  • The main aim of this summit is to take steps for enhancing member states connectivity for easier transit-transport between them.

About the South Asian Association for Regional Cooperation (SAARC):

  • The South Asian Association for Regional Cooperation (SAARC) is regional diplomatic organization and geopolitical union in South Asia.
  • Its member states are:
  1. Afghanistan (joined in 2007)
  2. Bangladesh
  3. Bhutan
  4. India
  5. Nepal
  6. The Maldives
  7. Pakistan
  8. Sri Lanka
  • SAARC includes 3 % of the world’s area, 21 % of the world’s population and 9.12 % of the global economy, as of 2015.
  • Nine observer states:
  1. Australia
  2. China
  3. European Union
  4. Japan
  5. Iran
  6. Mauritius
  7. Myanmar
  8. South Korea
  9. United States
  • Previously Ziaur Rahman former President of Bangladesh has recommended   idea for the SAARC on May 2, 1980.
  • The first edition of the summit was organized in 1981 and which was attended by seven founding countries in Dhaka (Bangladesh).
  • The Secretariat of SAARC was established in Kathmandu (Nepal) on 16 January 1987.

- Published/Last Modified on: August 30, 2016