2015 SAFF football championships has been won by India


For record seventh time India has won the 2015 South Asian Football Federation (SAFF) championship at the finales played at Thiruvananthapuram (Kerala), India by biting Afghanistan with 2 - 1 goal score. Jeje Lalpekhlua at 72nd minute and Sunil Chhetri at 101th minute had scored goals for India.

For Afghanistan single goal was scored by Zubayr Amiri at 70th minute.

Indian Team Captain: Sunil Chhetri.

Afghanistan Team Captain: Faysal Shayesteh.

Earlier India had won the SAFF Football Championship in year 1993, 1997, 1999, 2005, 2009 and 2011.

About SAFF Football Championship

  • The championship was established in 1993.
  • The SAFF Championship also called South Asian Football Federation (SAFF) Cup.
  • It is the regular football competition of men’s which is played by 8 countries in South Asia region.
  • It is administered by the South Asian Football Federation.

8 countries participating countries are:

  • Bangladesh
  • Bhutan
  • India
  • Maldives
  • Nepal
  • Pakistan
  • Sri Lanka
  • Afghanistan (joined in 2005)

- Published/Last Modified on: January 8, 2016