2015 Saraswati Samman bestowed to Padma Sachdev


Lt Governor Najeeb Jung of Delhi honored Eminent Padma Sachdev the Dogri languages Poetess and novelist by the prestigious Saraswati Samman 2015 in New Delhi for her autobiography ‘Chitt-Chete’ which was published in 2007 in Dogri language.

Image of Padma Sachdev

Image of Padma Sachdev

Image of Padma Sachdev

About Padma Sachdev

  • Padma Sachdev is the Dogri language’s first modern woman poet and Hindi Writer.
  • During her career she has published several poetry collections and total 60 books.
  • Some of her famous collections are:
  1. The Sahitya Akademi Award 1971 winner, Meri Kavita Mere Geet (My Poems, My Songs).
  2. Tavi Te Chanhan published in 1976 (book)
  3. Nheriyan Galiyan published in 1982 (book)
  4. Pota Pota Nimbal published in 1987(book)
  5. Uttar Vahini  published in  1992 (book)
  6. Tainthian published in 1992 (book)
  • Awards and Honours:
  1. Sahitya Akademi Award in 1971
  2. Padma Shri in 2001
  3. The Government of Madhya Pradesh honored her with the Kabir Samman for poetry in 2007-08.

About Saraswati Samman

  • Saraswati Samman is an annual literary award to recognize and honor outstanding literary work in Indian language (MUST BE IN INDIAN LANGUAGE according to Schedule VIII of Constitution) among the Indian citizen.
  • Established: 1991 by The K. K. Birla Foundation has established this award in 1971 and it carries Monetary award of 15 lakh rupees, a citation and a plaque.
  • Its name is based on Saraswati the Hindu goddess of learning and is considered to be among the highest literary awards in India.
  • Harivansh Rai Bachchan a famous was Hindi author the first recipient of this award for his autobiography of four books.

- Published/Last Modified on: August 31, 2016