2016 Abel Prize Will Be Honored the British Mathematician Andrew Wiles


The prestigious 2016 Abel Prize will be honored to the British mathematician Andrew Wiles (62). The Norwegian Academy of Sciences has selected him and Letters for solving a centuries old hypothesis (equation), Fermat’s Last Theorem. Academy has described his achievement as an epochal moment for mathematics.

Image of Andrew Wiles

Image of Andrew Wiles

2016 Abel Prize Winner

The Crown Prince Haakon will honor him with this award in May 2016.

About Andrew Wiles:

  • He was born on 11th April 1953 in Cambridge, England.
  • At the University of Oxford and specializes he has served as a Royal Society Research Professor in number theory from 1988 to 1990.
  • In 1974 he had completed his bachelor’s degree in mathematics from Merton College, Oxford and a PhD at Clare College, Cambridge in 1980.
  • He again had responded Oxford as Royal Society Research Professor in 2011.

Awards and Honours:

  • In 1999, the asteroid 9999 Wiles was named after Wiles
  • Knight Commander of the Order of the British Empire in 2000
  • Pythagoras Award in 2004

About Abel Prize:

  • Abel Prize is a Norwegian prize award which is presented annually to one or more outstanding mathematicians.
  • It is also called the Nobel Prize of mathematician.
  • The Government of Norway has established this award in 2001.
  • It has been named after Norwegian mathematician Niels Henrik Abel.
  • The award carries 6 million Norwegian kroner (NOK) (around 600, 000 Euros).
  • The 2015 edition of prize was bestowed upon John F. Nash Jr. (US) And Louis Nirenberg (US/Canada).


  • In 2007 Indian American mathematician R. Srinivasa Varadhan was bestowed with this award for his fundamental contributions to probability theory and for creating a unified theory of large deviation.

- Published/Last Modified on: March 18, 2016