2016 All England Badminton Title Has Been Won by Lin Dan (Download PDF)

Doorsteptutor material for CLAT is prepared by world's top subject experts: fully solved questions with step-by-step explanation- practice your way to success.

The prestigious 2016 All England Badminton title in the men՚s singles category has been won by the Lin Dan from China at the finals played at Birmingham, England. He has beaten Chinese teammate Tian Houwei by 21 - 9,21 - 10 score. With this he has won All England badminton title for sixth time and earlier he had won it in 2004, 2006, 2007,2009, 2012.

Lin Dan - Winner

Other category winners

Women՚s singles category:

Nozomi Okuhara from Japan won the title by beating Wang Shixian (China) with 21 - 11,16 - 21 and 21 - 19 score.

Men՚s Doubles category:

Russian pair Vladimir Ivanov and Ivan Sozonov won the title by beating Japanese pair Hiroyuki Endo and Kenichi Hayakawa with 21 - 23,21 - 18,21 - 16 score.

Women՚s Doubles category:

Japanese pair Misaki Matsutomo and Ayaka Takahashi won the title by beating Chinese pair Tang Yuanting and Yu Yang with 21 - 10 and 21 - 12 score.

Mixed Doubles category:

Indonesian pair Praveen Jordan and Debby Susanto won the title by beating Denmark pair Joachim Fischer Nielsen and Christinna Pedersen with 21 - 12 and 21 - 17 score.

About All England Open Badminton Championships:

It is one of the oldest as well as the prestigious badminton tournaments of the world.

After success of the world՚s first tournament which was held in 1898 in Guildford, it is played annually.

At initial level the championship was started in only three categories-

  • Men՚s Doubles
  • Women՚s Doubles
  • Mixed Doubles

But from 1900 individual Men՚s Singles and Women՚s Singles titles were also added.

Indian badminton legends Prakash Padukone has won this prestigious title in Men՚s Singles category in 1980 and P Gopichand in 2001.

- Published/Last Modified on: March 14, 2016

Govt. Schemes/Projects

Developed by: