2016 Asia Cup T20 Trophy Has Been Won by India


The 2016 Asia Cup T20 trophy has been won by India for a record sixth time. India has beaten Bangladesh by 8 wickets in the final match played at Sher-e-Bangla National Cricket Stadium, Mirpur. Due to spell of thundershowers the match was reduced to 15-over-per side.

Indian has completed 122 runs with the loss of 2 wickets in 13.5 overs.

India’s Shikhar Dhawan scored 60 runs and followed by Virat Kohli with 41 runs.

  • Captain of India: Mahendra Singh Dhoni.
  • Captain of Bangladesh: Mashrafe Mortaza.
  • Man of the Match: Shikhar Dhawan.
  • Man of the series: Sabbir Rahman (Bangladesh).

Most runs in the series: Sabbir Rahman (176) of Bangladesh. Most wickets in the series: Al-Amin Hossain (11) of Bangladesh.

2016 Asia Cup:

The 13th edition of Asian Cup was held in Bangladesh for the fifth time from 24 February to 6 March 2016.

For the first time it was played using the T20I format in Bangladesh.

In this edition 4 teams had participated and they are:

  • India
  • Pakistan
  • Sri Lanka
  • United Arab Emirates (Qualifier)

India and Sri Lanka has won the continental title 5 times and Pakistan for the 2 times.

- Published/Last Modified on: March 7, 2016