2016 Brain Prize Has Been Won by the Three British Scientists (Download PDF)


Download PDF of This Page (Size: 182.34 K)

A prestigious 2016 Grete Lundbeck European Brain Research Prize has been won by three British Scientists for their vital insight innovation about how the human brain remembers learns and navigates.

These scientists are:

  • Graham Collingridge: working as professor of neuroscience in anatomy at the University of Bristol and also head of the Department of Physiology at the University of Toronto.
  • Richard Morris: working as professor of neuroscience at the University of Edinburgh.
  • Timothy Bliss: currently serving as visiting worker at the Crick Institute in London.

Key highlights of their research:

  • They have demonstrated how neurons in the hippocampus collaborate and provide a basis for understanding how humans remember.
  • Hippocampus is located deep in the centre of the brain and it is a brain’s learning portal which helps human to store information.
  • They have also shown a phenomenon that is called long-term potentiation.
  • They also demonstrated connection between brain cells in the hippocampus and how they can be strengthened through repeated stimulation.
  • And they also have provided better tools for understanding serious illnesses such as depression, epilepsy and drug addiction though their research.

About Grete Lundbeck European Brain Research Prize:

  • Grete Lundbeck European Brain Research Prize is a largest prize for neuroscience in the world.
  • It is given to one or more scientists for their outstanding contribution to European neuroscience and still active in research.
  • This award was founded in 2011 by the Lundbeck Foundation of Denmark.
  • This prize carries monetary award of Denmark’s with one million euro ( $1, 45, 751).

- Published/Last Modified on: March 3, 2016


Monthy-updated, fully-solved, large current affairs-2018 question bank(more than 2000 problems): Quickly cover most-important current-affairs questions with pointwise explanations especially designed for IAS, CBSE-NET, Bank-PO and other competetive exams.