2016 Copa America Football Tournament Won by Chile (Download PDF)

Doorsteptutor material for CLAT is prepared by world's top subject experts: fully solved questions with step-by-step explanation- practice your way to success.

The 2016 Copa America Football tournament has been won by the Defending champion Chile by beating Argentina in a penalty shootout at the finals played at MetLife Stadium, New Jersey (US) with 4 - 2 goals in the penalty shootout due to both teams failed to score goal in the regulation period.

  • With this Chile has won second Copa America title after winning it for the first title in 2015 by beating Argentina.
  • Since 1947 Chile became the first team to win the title back to back.


  • Golden Boot: Eduardo Vargas from Chile.
  • Golden Ball: Alexis Sanchez from Chile.
  • Golden Glove award: Claudio Bravo from Chile.

About Copa America Football title

  • The Copa America or America Cup in Spanish and Portuguese title is an international football competition.
  • It is organized between the men՚s national football teams of South American Football Confederation (CONMEBOL) .
  • Asia and North America teams are also participating for it since the 1990s.
  • It is the oldest international continental football competition which was established in 1916.
  • In 1993 the present tournament format was modernized which includes 12 teams.
  • Over a period of one month these teams contest at venues in a host nation.

- Published/Last Modified on: June 28, 2016


Developed by: