2016 Hockey India Annual Awards [ ]


The 2016 Major Dhyan Chand Lifetime Achievement Award has been honored to Late Capt. Shankar Laxman. The award carries Rs. 30 lakh which was accepted by his son Manohar Singh Shekhawat at the 2016 Hockey India Annual Awards held in Bengaluru.

Late Capt. Shankar Laxman was one of fabulous hockey player in India.

He was a goalkeeper and was part of the Olympic medal-winning teams in:

  • 1956 (Melbourne, Gold)
  • 1960 (Rome, Silver)
  • 1964 (Tokyo, Gold)

Other winners:

  • Dhruv Batra Player of the Year Award: P. R Sreejesh (male), Deepika (female).
  • Baljit Singh Goalkeeper of the Year Award: Savita.
  • Pargat Singh Defender of the Year Award: Kothajit Singh.
  • Ajit Pal Singh Midfielder of the Year Award: Ritu Rani.
  • Dhanraj Pillay Forward of the Year Award: Rani.
  • Asunta Lakra Upcoming Player of the Year Award: Harjeet Singh (male), Preeti Dubey (female).
  • Jaman Lal Sharma Award for Invaluable Contribution: Baldev Singh.
  • President’s Award for Outstanding Achievement: Madhya Pradesh Hockey Academy.


  • The complete women’s hockey team and the support staff was honored with cash reward of Rs. 1.00 Lakh to each in order to celebrate the significant occasion of their qualification for the 2016 Rio Olympics after a gap of 36 years since the Moscow Games.

- Published/Last Modified on: March 28, 2016