2016 Nelson Mandela Award Has Been Won by Swat Activist Tabassum Adnan (Download PDF)


Download PDF of This Page (Size: 194.10 K)

2016 Nelson Mandela Graca Machel Innovation Award has been won by Pakistani women’s rights activist from Swat valley Tabassum Adnan the second woman from Pakistan’s Swat valley to win this international recognition after Nobel laureate Malala Yousafzai.

  • She won the award on the concluding day of the International Civil Society Week (ICSW) held from April 25 - 28, 2016 in Bogota, Colombia for the individual activist category.

About Tabassum Adnan

Image of Tabassum Adnan

Image of Tabassum Adnan

Tabassum Adnan winner of 2016 Nelson Mandela Award

  • Tabassum Adnan was a target of child marriage and was married at the age of 13.
  • The marriage was domestic abuse and after 20 years when she rushed to the courage to divorce her abusive husband.
  • Later she found NGO named Khwendo Jirga (Sister’s Council), a women-only Jirga where women meet weekly to discourse matters such as honour killings, swara and biting attacks the practice of giving women as recompense for crimes.
  • She was awarded 2015 Secretary of State’s International Women of Courage Award in recognition of her tireless hard work and facilities for women’s rights, in 2015.

About Nelson Mandela Graca Machel Innovation Award

  • It was established in 2004 at the CIVICUS World Assembly in Gaborone, Botswana.
  • The main propose of Awards offer seed funding for groundbreaking ideas developing from organizations or groups of organizations contributing in the CIVICUS World Assembly.
  • The awared compresses US 5, 000 dollars each and also confer their ideas with the World Assembly participants.

- Published/Last Modified on: August 8, 2017


Monthy-updated, fully-solved, large current affairs-2018 question bank(more than 2000 problems): Quickly cover most-important current-affairs questions with pointwise explanations especially designed for IAS, CBSE-NET, Bank-PO and other competetive exams.