2016 Pen Pinter Prize Won by Margaret Atwood


2016 Pen Pinter Prize will be honored to Margaret Atwood a Canadian poet, novelist, literary critic, essayist, and environmental activist at a public event scheduled to be held on 13th October 2016 at the British Library.

About Margaret Atwood

  • She was born on 18th November 1939 in Ottawa, Canada.
  • She is one of best known novelist, literary critic, essayist, and environmental activist and her famous novels are:
  1. The Handmaid’s Tale
  2. The Robber Bride
  3. The Year of the Flood

Along with this she has published fifteen poetry books and many of her poems have been inspired by myths and fairy tales.

  • She also has available short stories different magazines and also published four collections of stories and three collections of unclassifiable short prose works.
  • She also has invented LongPen and associated technologies that simplify the remote machinelike writing of documents.
  • She is the Co-Founder and a Director of Syngrafii Inc. which was established in 2004 to develop, produce and distribute the LongPen technology.
  • She also founded Writers’ Trust of Canada, a non-profit literary organization which aims to inspire Canada’s writing community.
  • Awards and Honours:
  1. The Prince of Asturias Award for Literature
  2. Arthur C. Clarke Award
  3. The Booker Prize
  4. She was inducted into Canada’s Walk of Fame in 2001.

About PEN Pinter Prize

  • The PEN Pinter Prize is an annual literary award which is honored to British writer or a writer resident in Britain for their outstanding contribution in literary merit.
  • The award is conferred to those who showed a fierce intellectual determination to define the real truth of our lives and our societies.
  • In 2009 English PEN has established it in honour of the late Nobel Literature Prize-winning playwright Harold Pinter.
  • PEN International affiliates are the sponsors of this award.
  • The 2015 PEN Pinter Prize was awarded to British poet and journalist James Fenton.

- Published/Last Modified on: June 16, 2016