2016 Sultan Azlan Shah Hockey Tournament Has Been Won by the Australia (Download PDF)


Download PDF of This Page (Size: 167.66 K)

The 25th edition of Sultan Azlan Shah Hockey Tournament 2016 has been won by Australia for record ninth time at the finals played at Ipoh, by beating India with 4 - 0 goals. With this India firm at the second position and New Zealand (defending champion) at the third position.

  • This was the second time India had completed with the silver medal in seven final appearances.
  • Australia had won the Sultan Azlan Shah Hockey Tournament in 1983, 1996, 2004, 2005, 2007, 2011, 2013 and 2014 previously.
  • Australia grip record of most titles win of this tournament.
  • Final Rankings:
  1. Australia at 1st position
  2. India at 2nd
  3. New Zealand at 3rd
  4. Malaysia at 4th
  5. Pakistan at 5th
  6. Canada at 6th
  7. Japan at 7th

About Azlan Shah Hockey Tournament:

  • Azlan Shah Hockey Tournament is a yearly international men’s field hockey tournament held in Malaysia.
  • It was named after 9th king of Malaysia and ‘Father of Malaysian Hockey’ Sultan Azlan Shah.
  • Azlan Shah Hockey Tournament was started in 1983 as biennial sporting event.
  • After 1998 it was changed into an annual event, following its growth and popularity.

- Published/Last Modified on: April 18, 2016


Monthy-updated, fully-solved, large current affairs-2019 question bank(more than 2000 problems): Quickly cover most-important current-affairs questions with pointwise explanations especially designed for IAS, NTA-NET, Bank-PO and other competetive exams.