2016 Assembly Election Results: West Bengal


Under the leadership of Chief Minister Mamata Banerjee ruling All India Trinamool Congress Party (TMC) has won the 2016 West Bengal Assembly Election with 211 seats (two-third seats) of total 295 seats.

  • Coalition of Indian National Congress (INC) and Left combine has won 76 seats evolving as largest opposition front.
  • Mamta Banerjee West Bengal Chief Minister and TMC Supremo have won from Bhabanipur Assembly Constituency.
  • Mamata Banerjee was reelected with majority and signifies first ruling party to win without support since 1962 in west Bengal.

Party wise Result:

  • All India Trinamool Congress (TMC): 211 seats.
  • Indian National Congress (INC): 44 seats.
  • Communist Party of India (Marxist) (CPI-M): 26 seats.
  • Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP): 3 seats.
  • Revolutionary Socialist Party: 3 seats.
  • Gorkha Janmukti Morcha: 3 seats.
  • Communist Party of India (CPI): 1 seat.
  • Independent: 1 seat.


  • West Bengal legislative assembly election was held for the 294 seats (out of 295 seats) in six phases between 4th April 2016 and 5th May 2016.
  • The first phase was held in Naxalite-Maoist unnatural Red corridor areas with two polling dates on 4th and 11th April, 2016. The other phases were held on 17th, 21st, 25th, 30th April and 5th May.
  • In 2011 All Indian Trinamool Congress has won the election under leadership of Mamta Banerjee and has ended 34 year rule of the Lest Front government.

- Published/Last Modified on: May 23, 2016