2017 Sahitya Akademi Award Winners (Download PDF)

Doorsteptutor material for CLAT is prepared by world's top subject experts: fully solved questions with step-by-step explanation- practice your way to success.

National academy of letters “Sahitya Academy” announced 24 poets and authors to be conferred the 2016 Sahitya Akademi Award in 24 different Indian languages. The award is given for books published between January 2011 and December 2015.

2017 Sahitya Akademi Award Winners
  • Award for 2016 has recognized premier works including seven novels, five poetries, five short stories, five literary criticism, one play, and one essay.


  • Essay: Jagdish Lachhani (Sindhi) .
  • Play: Rajen Toijamba (Manipuri)
  • English: Mamang Dai for his novel The Black Hill.
  • Hindi: Ramesh Kuntal Megh for his literary criticism work Vishw Mithak Sarit Sagar.
  • Sanskrit: Niranjan Mishra for his novel Gangaputravadanam.
  • Malayalam: KP Ramanunni for Daivathinte Pusthakam
  • Punjabi: Nachhattar for his novel Slow Down.
  • Poets: Udaya Narayana Singh (Maithili) , Bhujanga Tudu (Santali) , Shrikant Deshmukh (Marathi) , Inqulab (Tamil) and Devipriya (Telugu) .
  • Short Stories: Autar Krishen Rahbar (Kashmiri) , Shiv Mehta (Dogri) , Gajanan Jog (Konkani) , Gayatri Saraf (Odia) and Baig Ehsas (Urdu) .
  • Literary Criticism: Ramesh Kuntal Megh (Hindi) , Urmi Ghanshyam Desai (Gujarati) , TP Ashoka (Kannada) , Bina Hangkhim (Nepali) and Neeraj Daiya (Rajasthani) .

What is Sahitya Akademi Award?

  • Conferred annually on writers of outstanding works in one of the twenty-four major Indian languages (22 eighth Scheduled Languages + English and Rajasthani) .
  • Award consists of a casket containing an engraved copper-plaque, shawl, and price of ₹ 1 Lakh

Other Important Indian Literary Awards and Honors from Sahitya Akademy

  • Sahitya Akademi Fellowships
  • Highest honor, which Akademi confers through a system of electing Fellows and Honorary Fellows. Sahitya Akademi Award is the second-highest literary honor next to a Sahitya Akademi Fellowship.

Bhasha Samman

  • Sahitya Akademy gives these special awards to writers for significant contribution to Indian languages other than the above 24 major ones and for contribution to classical & medieval literature.
  • Instituted in 1996 for writers, scholars, editors, collectors, performers or translators who have made considerable contribution to the propagation, modernization, or enrichment of the languages.

Translation Awards

  • Instituted in 1989 for outstanding translations of major works in other languages into one of the 24 major Indian languages.

Anand Coomarswamy Fellowships

  • Named after the Ceylon Tamil writer Ananda Coomaraswamy, the fellowship was started in 1996.
  • Given to scholars from Asian countries to spend 3 to 12 months in India to pursue a literary project.

Premchand Fellowships

  • Named after Hindi writer Premchand, the fellowship was started in 2005.
  • Given to persons of eminence in the field of Culture from SAARC countries.

- Published/Last Modified on: January 11, 2018


Developed by: