21st of April is Civil Services Day- Four Priority Programmes Identified for PM’S Awards (Download PDF)


Download PDF of This Page (Size: 388.94 K)

On the 21st of April, The Civil Services Day is celebrated every year, where civil servants rededicate themselves to public service and awards for excellence in Public Administration are conferred. The Awards are given to acknowledge the exemplary and innovative work done by the officers of the Central and State Governments in implementation of selected Priority Programmes and for Innovation in Public Governance.

PM’s Awards For Excellence In Public Administration, 2018

PM’s Awards For Excellence In Public Administration, 2018

PM’s Awards For Excellence In Public Administration, 2018

Which Programs Are Identified For Awards?

  • Following four priority programmes have been identified for the awards to be presented on Civil Services Day 2018: -

Pradhan Mantri Fasal Bima Yojana

The PMFBY will replace the existing two schemes National Agricultural Insurance Scheme as well as the Modified NAIS. The PMFBY aims

  • To provide insurance coverage and financial support to the farmers in the event of failure of any of the notified crop as a result of natural calamities, pests & diseases.

  • To stabilise the income of farmers to ensure their continuance in farming.

  • To encourage farmers to adopt innovative and modern agricultural practices.

  • To ensure flow of credit to the agriculture sector.

Promoting Digital Payments

  • The Digital India programme is a flagship programme of the Government of India with a vision to transform India into a digitally empowered society and knowledge economy. “Faceless, Paperless, Cashless” is one of professed role of Digital India.

Pradhan Mantri Awas Yojana - Urban & Rural

  • Pradhan Mantri Gramin Awaas Yojana, previously Indira Awaas Yojana, is a social welfare flagship programme, created by the Indian Government, to provide housing for the rural poor in India.

Deen Dayal Upadhayay Grameen Kaushalya Yojana (DDUGKY)

The Ministry of Rural Development implements DDU-GKY to drive this national agenda for inclusive growth, by developing skills and productive capacity of the rural youth from poor families. There are several challenges preventing India’s rural poor from competing in the modern market, such as the lack of formal education and marketable skills. DDU-GKY bridges this gap by funding training projects benchmarked to global standards, with an emphasis on placement, retention, career progression and foreign placement.

Other Awards

  • Two awards shall be given to organizations of Central/State Government/District for innovations in

    • Environment Conservation

    • Water Conservation

    • Disaster Management

    • Energy, Education

    • Child Centric and Health

    • Women and Initiatives etc.

  • Out of these, one award is earmarked for an Aspirational District.


The schemes for Prime Minister’s Awards for Excellence in Public Administration. Under the Priority Programmes category, 2010 applications have been received from 623 districts across States/UTs.

Scheme-wise number of applications received is as follows:

  • Pradhan Mantri Fasal Bima Yojana (453).

  • Promoting Digital Payments (258).

  • Pradhan Mantri Awas Yojana – Urban (665) & Rural (412), and

  • Deen Dayal Upadhayay Grameen Kaushalya Yojana (222).

- Published/Last Modified on: May 23, 2018


Monthy-updated, fully-solved, large current affairs-2019 question bank(more than 2000 problems): Quickly cover most-important current-affairs questions with pointwise explanations especially designed for IAS, NTA-NET, Bank-PO and other competetive exams.