40th Prime Minister of Nepal is Sher Bahadur Deuba (Download PDF)


Download PDF of This Page (Size: 131.87 K)

Sher Bahadur Deuba has been elected as 40th Prime Minister of Nepal. He is elected fourth time as PM of Nepal and was the single candidate who has take part in the election as the main opposition party UML decided to end the obstruction of parliament so they don’t register its candidates for the election.

Image of Sher Bahadur Deuba

Image of Sher Bahadur Deuba

Image of Sher Bahadur Deuba

  • He has won this election by majority with 388 votes in the 593 strong Parliament.


  • Sher Bahadur Deuba elected as 40th Prime Minister of Nepal because in May 2017 Maoist leader Prachanda Kamal Dahal resigned from the post of PM because of power sharing deal with the Nepali Congress leader.
  • So CPN-UML has decided to hold local elections after getting green signal from ruling parties to end the difficulty of parliament in the remaining provinces on June 28 and the provincial and parliamentary elections by January, 2018.

About Sher Bahadur Deuba

  • Sher Bahadur Deuba was born on 13th June 1946 in Ashigram, Dadeldhura District, Nepal.
  • He had served as PM of Nepal for three terms from 1995 to 1997, from 2001 to 2002, and from 2004 to 2005 but he was dismissed as PM in 2005 by then King Gyanendra Shah because he was failure to hold elections and bring Maoist rebels to negotiations.
  • He also has elected twice as the leader of parliamentary party of the Nepali Congress.

About Pushpa Kamal Dahal

Image of Pushpa Kamal Dahal

Image of Pushpa Kamal Dahal

Image of Pushpa Kamal Dahal

  • Pushpa Kamal Dahal was born on 11th December 1954 Dhikur Pokhari, Kaski, Nepal.
  • He is chairman of the Communist Party of Nepal (Maoist-Centre).
  • He was elected as Prime Minister of Nepal on August 4, 2016 and previously from 2008 to 2009.

- Published/Last Modified on: June 14, 2017


Monthy-updated, fully-solved, large current affairs-2018 question bank(more than 2000 problems): Quickly cover most-important current-affairs questions with pointwise explanations especially designed for IAS, CBSE-NET, Bank-PO and other competetive exams.