51st Jnanpith Award Conferred on Dr. Raghuveer Chaudhari (Download PDF)


Download PDF of This Page (Size: 200.09 K)

President of India, Shri Pranab Mukherjee conferred the 51st Jnanpith Award on well-known Gujarati writer and litterateur Dr. Raghuveer Chaudhari at a function in New Delhi. India’s highest literary honour carrying a cash prize, a citation plaque and a bronze replica of Goddess Saraswati with he was awarded in 2015.

Image shows the President of India and Dr.Raghuveer Chaudhari

Image Shows the President of India and Dr. Raghuveer Chaudhari

Showing image of the President of India and Dr. Raghuveer Chaudhari

About Raghuveer Chaudhary

  • Raghuveer Chaudharywas born on 5 December 1938 in Bapupura near Gandhinagar, Gujarat.
  • He started his career writing novels and poetry, and other forms of literature.
  • He is novelist, poet, critic and a Gandhian.
  • He was a teacher at the Gujarat University and his retirement in 1998.
  • His literary work influenced by works of Gowardhan Ram Tripathi, Kaka Kalelkar and Suresh Joshi.
  • His most important contributions in Gujarati language but he has also written Hindi articles.


  • Raghuveer Chaudharyhas authored more than 80 books including novels, poetry, plays and literary criticism and some of his famous novels includes:

    • Amrita
    • Venu Vatsala
    • Uparvas
    • Purvarang
    • Laagni Samjyaa Vinaa Chuuta Padvanu
  • He also worked as a columnist for numerous newspapers such as

    • Sandesh
    • Janmabhumi
    • Nirikshaka
    • Divya Bhaskar

Awards and Honours:

  • In 1965: Kumar Chandrak
  • In 1975: Ranjitram Suvarna Chandrak
  • In 1977: Sahitya Akademi award for his novel trilogy Uparvas
  • In 1997: Munshi award.
  • In 2001: Sahitya Gaurav Puraskar,

About Jnanpith Award:

  • This award is India’s highest literary honour.
  • Its name taken from Sanskrit words Jnana and Pitha which means knowledge-seat.
  • In 1961 it was instituted and is presented annually by Bharatiya Jnanpith trust.
  • It was founded by the Sahu Shanti Prasad Jain family that owns the Times of India newspaper group.
  • Award is given any Indian citizen who writes in any 22 official languages of India mentioned in VIII Schedule of Constitution of India.
  • In 1982, the award was only given for a single work by a writer.
  • After 1982, the award is given for lifetime contribution to Indian literature.
  • Award carries cash prize of 11 lakh rupees, a citation plaque and a bronze replica of Saraswati.
  • Awards: Mr. Chaudhary is the fourth Gujarati litterateur

    • In 1967: Uma Shankar Joshi
    • In 1985: Pannalal Patel
    • In 2001: Rajendra Shah

- Published/Last Modified on: July 12, 2016


Monthy-updated, fully-solved, large current affairs-2018 question bank(more than 2000 problems): Quickly cover most-important current-affairs questions with pointwise explanations especially designed for IAS, NTA-NET, Bank-PO and other competetive exams.