9 More Cities Selected for ‘Smart City’ Mission (Download PDF)

Doorsteptutor material for CLAT is prepared by world's top subject experts: fully solved questions with step-by-step explanation- practice your way to success.

Housing Ministry released a list of nine new cities to be funded under the Centre ′ s flagship ′ Smart City ′ mission. The government allocated ₹ 12,824 crore to be invested in 409 projects to make these cities ′ Smart Cities. Of the nine cities, 3 are from Uttar Pradesh, 1 from Bihar, 1 from Tamil Nadu, 1 from Daman & Diu, 1 from Arunachal Pradesh and 1 from Lakshadweep.

Smart City Components

New Cities Selected for ‘Smart City’ Mission

  1. Silvassa, Dadra and Nagar Haveli
  2. Erode, Tamil Nadu
  3. Diu, Daman & Diu
  4. Biharsharif, Bihar
  5. Bareilly, Uttar Pradesh
  6. Itanagar, Arunachal Pradesh
  7. Moradabad, Uttar Pradesh
  8. Saharanpur, Uttar Pradesh
  9. Kavaratti, Lakshadweep

Background on City Selection

  • The Housing and Urban Affairs Ministry has till now announced the names of 90 cities that the government aims to help under the scheme.
  • Under the scheme, each city will get ₹ 500 crore as central assistance for implementing various projects.
  • The ministry plans to add names of 10 more cities to the present list of 90.

Other Facts About the ‘Smart City’ Scheme

  • There were about 3,000 projects worth ₹ 1,40, 000 crore at various stages of implementation under the scheme.
  • 147 projects worth ₹ 1,872 crore have been completed
  • Total investment of around ₹ 1,91, 155 crore has been proposed by the 90 cities.
  • Projects focusing on revamping ‘an identified area (Area Based Projects) ’ are estimated to cost ₹ 1,52, 500 crore.
  • An amount of ₹ 1,998.49 crore has been kept aside for O&M (operation and maintenance) cost of the mission and other contingencies.
  • Tendering process has started for 283 projects with a cost of ₹ 16,549 crore
  • Detailed project reports are being prepared for 2,029 projects worth ₹ 1,02, 366 crore.

How is the Mission Being Implemented?

  • The implementation of the mission is done by a Special Purpose Vehicle (SPV) to be set up at city-level in the form of a limited company
  • The SV to be promoted by the State/UT and the Urban Local Body (ULB) jointly both having 50: 50 equity shareholding.
  • 77 ‘smart cities’ have established their SPVs

- Published/Last Modified on: February 14, 2018

Govt. Schemes/Projects

Developed by: