A Kanyakumari, First Female Violinist to Get Sangita Kalanidhi Award (Download PDF)


Download PDF of This Page (Size: 196.19 K)

Well-known violinist Avasarala Kanyakumari was selected for the prestigious 2016 Sangita Kalanidhi Award. She becomes first female violinist chosen in the history of this important award.

  • From December 15, 2016 to January 1, 2017, she will also supervise over the 90th annual conference of the Music Academy.
  • Eight male violinists have been given with this award.
  • They are:
Image shows the Eight male violinists given Kalanidhi Award

Image Shows the Eight Male Violinists Given Kalanidhi Award

showing image of the Eight male violinists given Kalanidhi Award

About Avasarala Kanyakumari:

Image of violinist Avasarala Kanyakumari

Image of Violinist Avasarala Kanyakumari

showing image of violinist Avasarala Kanyakumari

  • Avasarala Kanyakumari is a violinist from South India and specializes in Carnatic music. She belongs to a family of musicians.
  • She has an experience of over 50 years as an instrumentalist, soloist and teacher.
  • She is native of Vijayanagaram in Andhra Pradesh.
  • A Kanyakumari has created seven ragas under the title Saptadri seven names of Lord Venkateswara of Tirupati, Tirumurti, Mahalakshmi and Bharat.

Awards and Honours:

  • Padma Shri (2015)
  • Sangeet Natak Akademi Award (2003)

About Sangita Kalanidhi award:

  • This award is a prestigious award given annually upon an expert of Carnatic Music by the Madras Music Academy.
  • The award’s name Sangita Kalanidhi has been derived from Sanskrit.
  • Sangita Kalanidhi award means treasure of Music and art in English.
  • In Carnatic music this honour is considered as an one of the highest awards.

- Published/Last Modified on: July 25, 2016


Monthy-updated, fully-solved, large current affairs-2018 question bank(more than 2000 problems): Quickly cover most-important current-affairs questions with pointwise explanations especially designed for IAS, CBSE-NET, Bank-PO and other competetive exams.