AsEAN Defense Ministers Meeting Plus (ADMM-Plus) (Download PDF)

Doorsteptutor material for CLAT is prepared by world's top subject experts: fully solved questions with step-by-step explanation- practice your way to success.

  • The ASEAN defense Ministers՚ Meeting Plus (ADMM-Plus) meeting was held virtually at the 14th occasion. It is a platform for 10 ASEAN Countries and its eight Dialogue Partners to strengthen security and defense cooperation.
  • Focus areas are peace, stability, and development in the region. A new priority area of humanitarian mine action was agreed in 2013.
AsEAN Defense Ministers՚ Meeting Plus

Recent Meeting Highlights

  • The ‘central role’ of ASEAN (Association of Southeast Asian Nations) -led forums was appreciated.
  • India՚s defense minister pointed out to the challenges to be addressed such as maritime security, cyber-related crimes, and terrorism.
  • Threats of bioterrorism.
  • Transnational trafficking and pandemic diseases.
  • The world economy moves on the path of recovery due to Covid-19 pandemic.
  • Need to re-assess our healthcare infrastructure.
  • The launch of the Indo-Pacific Oceans Initiative (IPOI) is an open global initiative that draws on existing regional cooperation architecture and mechanism.

Objectives of ADMM-Plus

  • Promoting mutual trust and confidence among the ASEAN member countries.
  • Building and strengthening capacity to address shared security challenges.
  • Enhancing regional peace and stability through cooperation in defense and security.

Vientiane Action Programme:

  • To build a peaceful, secure, and prosperous ASEAN.
  • Greater outward-looking external relation strategies (friends and Dialogue Partners) .

Eight Dialogue Partners

Australia, China, India, Japan, New Zealand, Republic of Korea, Russia, and the USA.

Areas of Practical Cooperation

  • Maritime security.
  • Counter-terrorism.
  • Humanitarian assistance and disaster relief.
  • Peacekeeping operations and military medicine.


  • The Association of Southeast Asian Nations.
  • It was established in August 1967.
  • Aim to accelerate the economic growth, social progress, and cultural development in the region.
  • Promoting regional peace and stability.
  • The member states are Brunei, Cambodia, Indonesia, Laos, Malaysia, Myanmar, Philippines, Singapore, Thailand, and Vietnam.

- Published/Last Modified on: June 5, 2021

International Relations/Organizations, Defense

Developed by: