Abhinav Bindra Appointed as a Head of NRAI Review Committee on Rio Debacle


Abhinav Bindra India’s first and only individual Olympic gold-medalist is going to head the five-member review committee constituted by National Rifle Association of India (NRAI) to probe the Indian shooters’ Rio Games debacle.

Image of Abhinav Bindra

Image of Abhinav Bindra

Image of Abhinav Bindra

  • The committee will submit the report within a maximum period of four weeks and other members of the committee are:
  1. Former tennis player Manisha Malhotra
  2. NRAI Secretary Rajiv Bhatia
  3. Two journalists.

Key Facts

  • The main criteria of this committee are to examine and recognize the reasons “why India doesn’t secure any medal in shooting at the Rio Olympics? ”
  • And after examine it; the committee will suggest concrete steps to NRAI to ensure that this will not repeated in future Olympics.

About National Rifle Association of India (NRAI)

  • The NRAI was founded in 1951 by GV Mavlankar (first president of NRAI), the first speaker of Lok Sabha with aim to promote the shooting sports in India.
  • It is associated with the Indian Olympic Association (IOC) and all International Shooting Federations/Confederations.
  • At the present time, NRAI conducts annually five national level competitions to promote the sports of shooting in India.

 About Abhinav Bindra

  • He was born on September 28, 1982.
  • He hails from Dehradun in Uttarakhand.
  • He is an Indian Shooter.
  • He is a World and Olympic champion for 10 m Air rifle.
  • He was the youngest participant in 2000 Olympics from India.


  • In 2000 he has won Arjuna award.
  • Rajiv Gandhi Khel Ratna was conferred to him in 2001 and also won 6 gold medals.
  • In 2002 Common wealth games he won gold.
  • In 2009 he was honored Padma Bhushan.
  • In 2011 he was given the Honorary Lieutenant Colonel by The Indian Territorial Army.
  • In 2006 he won gold in ISSF World Shooting Championships.
  • In 2008 Olympics held in Beijing he became first Indian to win individual gold in the game.
  • He won Gold in 2014 Commonwealth Games at Glasgow.

- Published/Last Modified on: August 30, 2016