Ashobaa Vijai Sharma appointed as new Chief Information Commissioner


President Pranab Mukherjee has appointed Vijai Sharma as Chief Information Commissioner for 5 years or till they attain the age of 65. Earlier, Vijai Sharma was serving as information commissioner in Central Information Commission since 2012. Vijai Sharma is a 1974 batch IAS officer of Uttar Pradesh Cadre and he also had served as Environment secretary.

  • Vijai Sharma rich work experience in Administration & Governance and Law & Policy in Central and State Governments and United Nations.
  • Central Information Commission was under The Right to Information (RTI) Act, 2005 provides for establishment of Central and State information commissioner as a designated statutory authority to receive and inquire into a complaint from any person.
  • Chief Information Commissioner and Information Commissioner hold office for a term of 5 years or till he attains the age of 65 years. On 26 October 2005, Wajahat Habibullah was India’s first Chief Information Commissioner.
  • The Chief Information Commissioner and Information Commissioners are appointed by the President on the recommendation of a selection committee comprising of Prime Minister as Chairperson.
  • The leader of single largest opposition party in the Lok Sabha and a Union Cabinet Minister to be nominated by the Prime Minister.

- Published/Last Modified on: June 10, 2015