At 59th National Shooting Championship Vijay Kumar wins gold medal


At the 59th National Shooting Championship Olympic medalist Vijay Kumar of Indian Army has won gold medal held in New Delhi. By shooting a combined score of 588 over the rapid and precision rounds he has won the gold medal in the men’s 25-metre center fire pistol category.

Gurpreet Singh of Indian Army has won silver medal at second place with a 586 score and Pemba Tamang has secure the third place with 582 score winning bronze medal.

Other winners in the Championship are:

  • 25m standard pistol event: Gurpreet Singh (Indian Army).
  • Rapid fire pistol: Pemba Tamang (Indian Army).
  • Air pistol & Standard pistol events: Achal Pratap Singh Grewal.

About Vijay Kumar:

  • He was born on 19 August 1985 at Harsour located at Hamirpur, Himachal Pradesh.
  • He is serving in India’s army as Major.
  • Since 2003 he is serving at Indian Army Marksmanship Unit, Mhow.
  • At the 2012 Olympics, London Vijay Kumar had won the silver medal in the 25m rapid fire pistol event.


  • Padma Shri in 2013
  • Arjuna Award in 2006
  • Rajiv Gandhi Khel Ratna Award in 2012.

- Published/Last Modified on: December 16, 2015