BRICS nations signed Moscow Declaration for - Multilateral Science Projects [ Current News (Concise) ]


BRICS nations contracted Moscow Declaration for co - investment of resources for supporting multilateral Research and Development (R&D) Projects. The declaration was signed during the third meeting of the BRICS (Brazil, Russia, India, China and South Africa) Ministers for Science, Technology and Innovation.

  • Dr. Harsh Vardhan, Union Minister for Science and Technology and Earth Sciences led the Indian delegation.

About the collaboration:

  • Co - operation for huge research infrastructures, including mega - science projects along with synchronization of the existing large - scale national program of member countries.
  • Execution and development of a BRICS Framework Program for funding joint multilateral research projects, improvement and technology commercialization.
  • Formation of BRICS Research and Innovation Networking Platform.

Key features:

  • The combined declaration seeks to improve co - investment of resources to support multilateral Research and Development (R&D) Projects in mutually agreed areas by BRICS nations.
  • The meeting also known a BRICS Action Plan 2015 - 18 on BRICS Science, Technology and Innovation collaboration.

About BRICS:

  • BRICS is the abbreviation for an association of five major emerging national economies: Brazil, Russia, India, China and South Africa.
  • The grouping was originally known as “BRIC” before the attachment of South Africa in 2010.
  • The BRICS members are all developing or newly industrialized countries.
  • Russia currently holds the chair of the BRICS group, and hosted the group’s seventh summit in July 2015.
  • As of 2015, the five BRICS countries represent over 3 billion people, or 42 % of the world.
  • The BRICS have received both approval and disapproval from numerous commentators.

- Published/Last Modified on: November 3, 2015