Denmark’s Mogens Lykketoft elected as President of UN General Assembly


Mogens Lykketoft from Denmark was elected as President of United Nations General Assembly (UNGA). Lykketoft was only the nominee put forward by the WEOG (Western Europe and other group).

  • Lykketoft replaces Sam Kutesa from Uganda who was President of 69th session of UNGA. Lykketoft will preside over the 193-member UNGA in its upcoming 70th session for one-year term.
  • Since 2011, Lykketoft is President (speaker) of Denmark’s Parliament. Earlier he had served as Cabinet Minister in Prime Minister Poul Nyrup Rasmussen led government.
  • During 1993 to 2000, Lykketoft had held portfolios such as Finance Minister and Foreign Minister from 2000 to 2001.
  • President of UNGA presides over the sessions of the General Assembly which is starts begins every year in September.
  • In 1953, Vijaya Lakshmi Pandit was first and only Indian to serve as President of UNGA. She was also the first woman President of UNGA.
  • The President is elected annually on rotational basis between the five geographic groups namely African, Asian, Eastern European, Latin American and Caribbean and Western European and other States.

- Published/Last Modified on: June 24, 2015