European Materials Research Society Award Won by Nandini Bhandaru from IIT-Kharagpur [ ]


The Young Scientist Award of the European Materials Research Society’s (E-MRS) has been won by Nandini Bhandaru, a PhD student of IIT-Kharagpur for her outstanding contribution to materials science and nanotechnology, particularly nano-patterning of soft films and surfaces.

Image of Nandini Bhandaru

Image of Nandini Bhandaru

Nandini Bhandaru winner of Young Scientist Award

  • Ms. Bhandaru is working at the Instability and Soft Patterning Laboratory of the institute IIT-Kharagpur currently.
  • She is doing her research on nano-fabrication, including soft-lithography, polymer blend films, thin film dewetting and self-assembly.

What is Nanofabrication?

  • To manufacture nano-materials or pattern materials on a nanometer scale, Nano-fabrication and nano-patterning technology include developing methods.
  • Nano-lithography is a common method used in nano-patterning specially for creating topographically patterned polymer films and surfaces essential in the organic electronics.
  • Applications:
  1. Organic light-emitting diodes (oleds),
  2. Opto-electronic devices,
  3. Thin film transistors (tfts),
  4. Biological sensors microfluidics,
  5. Plastic solar cells
  6. Data storage media
  7. Smart and super adhesives
  8. Lab-on-a-chip devices
  9. Surfaces for nano-biotechnology applications such as patterned substrates for probing of cell behaviour, etc.

About Ms. Nandini Bhandaru innovative Research proposes:

  • Possibility of fabricating nano-scale decorative surfaces at an extremely low cost and by using an integrally simple methodology.
  • For many of the devices and applications these surfaces may act as the mother board.
  • With minimal capital investment of the fabrication costs of these surfaces this technique can be commercialized.
  • As current high end expensive photolithography or electron beam lithography based methods the fabrication costs can be reduced to one tenth.

- Published/Last Modified on: May 18, 2016