G-4 countries have issued a Joint Statement on UNSC Reforms (Download PDF)


Download PDF of This Page (Size: 180.85 K)

About G - 4 countries: The G4 nations including countries Brazil, Germany, India and Japan. These four countries support each other’s proposals for permanent spaces on the United Nations Security Council.

  • These G4 nations are regularly elected to two - year terms on the Security Council as non - permanent members by their respective regional groups.
  • In the 24 - year period from 1987 to 2010, Brazil and Japan were elected for five terms each, Germany for four terms (one term as West Germany and three terms as unified Germany) and India for two terms.

About Joint Statement on UNSC Reforms:

  • G - 4 countries have issued a Joint Statement on United Nations Security Council Reforms.
  • This Joint Statement was issued after G - 4 meeting held in New York, US which was called by Indian Prime Minister Narendra Modi, Brazilian President Dilma Rousseff, Chancellor of Germany Angela Merkel and Prime Minister of Japan Shinzo Abe.

About UNSC:

  • UNSC stands for United Nations Security Council.
  • The UN Security Council is aimed to maintain peace and security among countries.
  • The decisions of the Council are known as United Nations Security Council resolutions.
  • This Security Council is made up of fifteen member states in which five permanent members: China, France, Russia, the United Kingdom, and the United States and ten non - permanent members: Angola, Chad, Chile, Jordan, Lithuania, Malaysia, New Zealand, Nigeria, Spain, and Venezuela.

- Published/Last Modified on: September 29, 2015


Monthy-updated, fully-solved, large current affairs-2019 question bank(more than 2000 problems): Quickly cover most-important current-affairs questions with pointwise explanations especially designed for IAS, NTA-NET, Bank-PO and other competetive exams.