Gujarat and Centre Government Signs MoU on Construction of 11 Small Airports (Download PDF)

Doorsteptutor material for CLAT is prepared by world's top subject experts: fully solved questions with step-by-step explanation- practice your way to success.

After Maharashtra and Jharkhand, Gujrat become third state to sign a tripartite memorandum of understanding (MoU) with the Ministry of Civil Aviation and the Airport Authority of India (AAI) for new 11 small airports and airstrips.

Centre՚s Regional Connectivity Scheme (RCS) will be the managing body for this project which will aim to increase regional air connectivity in the State.

Key Facts:

  • Gujarat Government and the Central Government will mutually work for improvement and upgradation of 11 unserved or underserved airports and airstrip՚s infrastructure.
  1. Un-served airports: airports where any commercial flight not scheduled
  2. Under-served airports: airports with 7 or less scheduled commercial flights per week.
  • These 11 airports and airstrips are:
  1. Bhavnagar
  2. Jamnagar
  3. Surat
  4. Bhuj
  5. Mehsana
  6. Porbandar
  7. Amreli
  8. Mandavi
  9. Kandla
  10. Keshod
  11. Deesa
Location of Airports and Airstrips on Gujarat
  • The Central Government will give financial support on the form of Subsidy under RCS՚s viability gap funding.

About Regional Connectivity Scheme

  • The provision of Regional Connectivity Scheme (RCS) has been mentioned in the National Civil Aviation Policy (NCAP) 2015.
  • From this India will revive un-served or under-served airstrips/airports by increasing civil aviation sector.
  • Currently from 476 airstrips only 75 have scheduled operations.
  • Airport Authority of India will implement this project.
  • Objectives of RCs

  • Promote balance regional growth
  • Affordable flying for the masses
  • Promote tourism
  • Increase employment scopes

- Published/Last Modified on: September 6, 2016

Govt. Schemes/Projects

Developed by: