Gujarat wins Maiden Vijay Hazare title


The 14th season of prestigious Vijay Hazare Cricket Trophy for season 2015–16 has been won by Gujrat for first time in its history of championship. At the finals Gujrat has beat Delhi by 139 runs played at M Chinnaswamy Stadium, Bengaluru (Karnataka).

About Vijay Hazare Trophy

  • It was started in 2002 - 03 and since that it is organized annually.
  • This trophy is named after the famous Indian cricketer Vijay Hazare
  • It is limited-overs cricket domestic competition and is played among state teams from the Ranji Trophy plates.
  • The trophy is also known as the Ranji One Day Trophy.
  • Tamil Nadu has won the trophy for record 4 times, in seasons 2002–03, 2004–05, 2008–09 and 2009–10.
  • Jharkhand has won trophy in 2011 by beating Gujrat in finals.
  • Bengal won the trophy in 2011 - 12.
  • And Kolkata has won the trophy in 2013 - 14.

- Published/Last Modified on: December 30, 2015