Hero Hangpan Dada Gets Ashok Chakra

⪻ Articles ⪼

Hangpan Dada laid down his life after single-handedly killing three terrorists in Jammu and Kashmir last year. President Pranab Mukherjee conferred Ashok Chakra on Havildar Hangpan Dada of Rashtiya Rifles on republic day. It was accepted by Dada՚s widow Chasen Lowang.

Mukherjee Awards Ashok Chakra to Havildar Hangpan

About Dada՚s bravado

  • Hangpan dada in treacherous Shamsabari range in North Kashmir eliminated three heavily-armed terrorists.
  • Terrorist had infiltrated into North Kashmir from Pak-occupied-Kashmir (PoK) .
  • He along with his team spotted movement of terrorists in area engaging them in a fierce encounter that went on for over 24 hours.
  • Dada surprised the terrorists by blocking their escape route.
  • Dada was badly injured in the encounter.
  • He displayed raw courage, unflinching grit and presence of mind with utter disregard to his personal safety and despite bleeding profusely, discharged his duties and made supreme sacrifice for the nation.

About Hangpan Dada

Havildar Hangpan Dada with His Wife Chasen
  • Born: October 2,1979 Borduria, Arunachal Pradesh
  • Died: May 27,2016 Naugam, Jammu and Kashmir
  • Service/branch: Indian Army (Rashtriya Rifles)
  • Years of service: 1997 - 2016
  • Rank: Havildar
  • Unit: Assam Regiment
  • Awards: Ashok Chakra
  • To remember his service Assam Regimental Centre (ARC) has named its main office block in its headquarters after Hangpan Dada. The plaque was inaugurated by Dada՚s wife Chasen Lowang Dada.
  • To honour him Arunachal Pradesh Chief Minister Pema Khandu renamed annual football and volleyball (men and women) tournaments for Chief Minister՚s Trophy as Hangpan Dada Memorial Trophy.

About Ashoka Chakra

Ashoka Chakra and Its Ribbon
  • The Ashoka Chakra is India՚s highest peacetime military decoration awarded for valour, courageous action or self-sacrifice away from the battlefield.
  • Category: Peacetime gallantry award
  • Established: 1952
  • Next (Lower) : Padma Vibhushan
  • Next (Higher) : Param Vir Chakra
  • Total awarded: 63

Examrace Team at