Hockey India conferred inaugural Hockey India Annual Awards [ ]


Hockey India conferred the inaugural Hockey India (HI) Annual Awards by Union Minister of Youth Affairs and Sports minister Sarbananda Sonowal. Hockey India (HI) Annual Awards conferred to recognise the dedication and hard work of hockey players, coaches and administrators on the field to build the sport on the national and international arena.

Total amount of award money was 2.80 Crore rupees were presented in a ceremony at New Delhi and they awards had given different the categories of Major Dhyan Chand Lifetime Achievement Award to Balbir Singh Sr. with a cash prize of 3000000 rupees. The Dhruv Batra Award for Player of the Year (including both Men and Women) - awarded to Birendra Lakra and Vandana Katariya. Jaman Lal Sharma Award - awarded to Harendra Singh.

Hockey India President Award -for Outstanding Achievement conferred to One Thousand Hockey Legs for its exceptional contribution towards the sport.

6 awards named after players who represented India in the past included:

  1. The Jugraj Singh Award - awarded to Harmanpreet Singh for Upcoming Player of the Year (including both Men – Under 21).
  2. Asunta Lakra Award - awarded to Namita Toppo for Upcoming Player of the Year (Women – Under 21).
  3. Baljit Singh Award- awarded to PR Sreejesh for Goalkeeper of the Year and Pargat Singh Award for Defender of the Year to Deepika
  4. Ajit Pal Singh Award - awarded to to Manpreet Singh for Midfielder of the Year given and
  5. Dhanraj Pillay Award - awarded to Akashdeep Singh for Forward of the Year.

Contributed by: Neelam Kumari

- Published/Last Modified on: March 31, 2015