Icc U-19 Cricket World Cup 2016 Has Been Won by West Indies


The ICC U-19 Cricket World Cup has been won by West Indies for the first time in history. They have defended three time champions India by five wickets in finals played at Mirpur (Bangladesh). West Indies team achieved the target of 146 runs set by India in in 49.3 overs.

In the first inning, Indian team was bowled out for 145 in 45.1 overs previously.

Man of the match: Keacy Carty (West Indies)

Player of the tournament: Mehidy Hasan Miraz (Bangladesh)

About ICC Under-19 Cricket World Cup 2016:

This was the 11th edition of the tournament and overall 17th edition of international U-19 cricketing teams participated which was held in Bangladesh.

Ishan Kishan was the captain of Indian Team.

Top five cricket teams in the Under-19 cricket world cup:

  • West Indies
  • India
  • Bangladesh
  • Sri Lanka
  • Pakistan

India was playing for the fifth time in the Under-19 World Cup final and West Indies for the second time.

- Published/Last Modified on: February 15, 2016