India: 35th Member of Missile Technology Control Regime [ Current News (Concise) ]


India became the 35th full member of the Missile Technology Control Regime (MTCR) for mutual benefits in the furtherance of international non-proliferation objectives. Foreign Secretary S Jaishankar has signed the instrument of accession to MTCR in this regard at New Delhi.

  • With this India made its first entry into any multilateral export control regime.
  • The MTCR Point of Contact has conveyed India’s accession to the regime in Paris through the French Embassy in New Delhi as well as Embassies of The Netherlands and Luxembourg.
  • India was capable to effectively enter this multilateral export control regime with the unrestricted support of all 34 MTCR Partners.
  • India’s attempt for the membership to the group and was failed after it was blocked by Italy previously in 2015.


  • India will now be able to buy high-end missile technology and also can enhance its defence joint ventures with Russia by becoming MTCR member.
  • The MTCR will also strengthen its own export controls in India’s addition which will in chance help it to validate transferring sensitive technology in front of other MTCR members.
  • In additional, it will also pave a way for India’s attempt to become the member of Nuclear Supplier Group (NSG), Wassenaar Agreement and Australia Group.

About Missile Technology Control Regime (MTCR)

  • G-7 countries have established the MTCR in 1987.
  • The main objective behind the implementation of the MTCR is to control the proliferation of missiles, unmanned air vehicles (UAVs), complete rocket systems and related technology for those systems capable of carrying a 500 kilogram payload for at least 300 kms and systems planned for the delivery of weapons of mass destruction (WMDs).

- Published/Last Modified on: June 28, 2016