India and Singapore Decide to Enhance Scale of Military Interaction


India and Singapore have decided to improve the measure of existing bilateral military interaction and decided to expand the interaction between the fortified forces and at inaugural Singapore-India Defence Ministers’ Dialogue (DMD) the decision in this regard, was taken.

  • Defence Minister Manohar Parrikar and his Singapore counterpart Dr. Ng Eng. Hen was the co-chairperson of Dialogue.
  • After the meeting to powerful convicted terrorism and transformed their promise to collaboration in counter terrorism efforts as well both ministers carried a joint statement.
  • It also highlighted the significance of protection maritime security in international waterways.
  • Cooperation between Defence Research and Development Organization (DRDO) and Singapore research agency on research-oriented projects also approved by both countries.
  • They also agreed to work together between industries under ‘Make in India’ initiative.
  • In 2003 India and Singapore had inked Defence Cooperation Agreement (DCA) then it was revised in 2015.
  • In November 2015, defence cooperation was identified as a key sector under the India-Singapore Joint Declaration on Strategic Partnership during the visit of Prime Minister Narendra Modi to Singapore.
  • The first meeting of their Defence Industry Working Group of both the countries was organized in May 2016.
  • Both sides agreed to set up industry level working mechanisms to adopt cooperation in aerospace, electronics and other areas of mutual interest.

About Defence Research and Development Organization:

  • The Defence Research and Development Organization (DRDO) is an agency of the Republic of India, charged with the military’s research and development.
  • Its headquartered is located at New Delhi, India.
  • The merger of the Technical Development Establishment and the Directorate of Technical Development and Production with the Defence Science Organization has formed it in 1958.
  • The Ministry of Defence and Government of India administrate it.

- Published/Last Modified on: June 6, 2016