J Jayalalithaa launches first phase of Chennai Metro


Tamil Nadu Chief Minister J Jayalalithaa was inaugurated first phase of Chennai Metro service after she flagged off inaugural train. The first phase of Metro service covers the 10-km overhead (elevated) stretch which connects Alandur in south Chennai to Koyabedu in the north.

Image of J Jayalalithaa

Image of J Jayalalithaa

Launching first phase of Chennai Metro

  • Chennai Metro will cover seven stations in the stretch. They are Koyambedu, Arumbakkam, Vadapalani, Chennai Mofussil Bus Terminus, Ashok Nagar, Ekkattuthangal. The metro service will bear capacity of 1276 passengers with four coaches.
  • The Corridor 2 or second phase of this metro connecting Chennai Central and St. Thomas Mount is will be ready by end 2015.The whole project is implemented by Chennai Metro Rail Limited (CMRL).
  • In 2009, it was approved by then Congress-led UPA government with launching of this Metro service, Chennai became seventh city in India to have metro service. Other 6 cities are Delhi, Mumbai, Gurgaon, Bangalore, Kolkata and Jaipur.

- Published/Last Modified on: June 30, 2015