Justice JS Khehar Sworn in as 44th Chief Justice of India (Download PDF)

Doorsteptutor material for IAS is prepared by world's top subject experts: Get detailed illustrated notes covering entire syllabus: point-by-point for high retention.

Download PDF of This Page (Size: 166.93 K)

Justice Jagdish Singh Khehar, has led the five-judge constitution bench in the Supreme Court which had struck down the controversial NJAC Act for appointment of judges. He has sworn in as the 44th Chief Justice of India.

Image of Jagdish Singh Khehar

Image of Jagdish Singh Khehar

Image of Jagdish Singh Khehar

About Jagdish Singh Khehar

  • Appointed by: Pranab Mukherjee, President of India
  • Born: 28 August 1952 (age 64)
  • Nationality: Indian
  • Alma mater: Panjab University, Chandigarh
  • Occupation: Judge
  • Religion: Sikhism

About Chief Justice of India (CJI)

  • He is first Chief Justice from the Sikh community
  • Abbreviation: CJI
  • Seat: New Delhi
  • Nominator: Collegium of the Supreme Court
  • Appointer: President of india
  • Term length: till the age of 65 yrs.
  • Formation: 1950
  • The (CJI) is the head of the judiciary of India and the Supreme Court of India.
  • The CJI also heads their administrative functions.
  • The Chief Justice carries out the following functions: Maintenance of the roster, Appointment of court officials and general and miscellaneous matters relating to the supervision and functioning of the Supreme Court.
Types of courts in India

Types of Courts in India

Types of courts in India

There Are Various Levels of Judiciary in India

  • Different types of courts, each with varying powers depending on the tier and jurisdiction bestowed upon them.
  • They form a strict hierarchy of importance, in line with the order of the courts in which they sit.
  • The Supreme Court of India at the top, followed by High Courts of respective states.
  • District judges sitting in District Courts and Magistrates of Second Class and Civil Judge (Junior Division).
Various Levels of Judiciary in India

Various Levels of Judiciary in India

Various Levels of Judiciary in India

- Published/Last Modified on: January 6, 2017


Developed by: