K Kasturirangan Appointed as Chairman of National Education Policy (Download PDF)


Download PDF of This Page (Size: 150.77 K)

Krishnaswamy Kasturirangan has been appointed as the head nine member committee which will prepare the final draft of the National Education Policy. And the other members are:

  1. Former IAS officer K. J. Alphonse
  2. Princeton University mathematician Manjul Bhargava
  3. Ram Shanker Kureel Vice-Chancellor of Baba Saheb Ambedkar University of Social Sciences, Mhau he also has written on inclusion of the marginal in mainstream education
  4. Vasudha Kamat the Vice-Chancellor of SNDP University, Mumbai, and educationist
  5. Amarkantak Vice-Chancelllor of Tribal University
  6. TV Kattamani
  7. KM Tripathy
  8. Mahzar Asif the Gauhati University Persian language professor
  9. M. K. Shridhar member of CABE

Key Facts

  • The committee start its work by taking immediate effect in exhaustive democratic exercise of 30 months.
  • Educationists, teachers, experts, students and other stakeholders from the nation have given their suggestion to the HRD.
  • All the members of committee are belongs to different areas and different age group so they can bring experience, innovation and also global exposure which are very important to form such policy.
  • Previously in June 2016, the HRD has formed committee on New Education Policy which was headed by T S R Subramanian.

About K Kasturirangan

  • Krishnaswamy Kasturirangan was born on 24 October 1940 in Ernakulam, Kerala.
Image of Krishnaswamy Kasturirangan

Image of Krishnaswamy Kasturirangan

Image of Krishnaswamy Kasturirangan

  • He is an Indian space scientist and has served as head of the Indian Space Research Organisation (ISRO) from 1994 to 2003.
  • He also has served as chancellor of Jawaharlal Nehru University and the chairman of Karnataka Knowledge Commission.
  • He was the former member of the Rajya Sabha (2003–09) and now defunct Planning Commission of India.
  • He also had served as the Director of the National Institute of Advanced Studies, Bangalore, from April 2004 to 2009.
  • He is awarded with the major civilian award of India for his dedication and excellence and they are:

    • Padma Shri in 1982
    • Padma Bhushan in 1992
    • Padma Vibhushan in 2000

- Published/Last Modified on: July 4, 2017


Monthy-updated, fully-solved, large current affairs-2019 question bank(more than 2000 problems): Quickly cover most-important current-affairs questions with pointwise explanations especially designed for IAS, NTA-NET, Bank-PO and other competetive exams.