Karen Uhlenbeck Became the First Woman to Win ‘Maths Nobel’ (Download PDF)


Download PDF of This Page (Size: 249.96 K)

The American Woman Karen Uhlenbeck became the first woman to win the Abel Prize for her fundamental work in geometric analysis & gauge theory which has changed mathematical landscape. Karen Uhlenbeck’s theories have revolutionised the understanding of minimal surfaces, such as those formed by soap bubbles & more general minimization problems in higher dimensions.

She is a professor emeritus of mathematics at the University of Texas at Austin. She is currently a visiting associate at the Institute for Advanced Study and a visiting senior research scholar at Princeton University.

This is Image show in Dr Karen bestow

This is Image Show in Dr Karen Bestow

This is Image show in Dr Karen bestow

Abel Prize

  • The Abel Prize is a Norwegian prize awarded annually by the King of Norway to one or more outstanding mathematicians.

  • It is named after Norwegian mathematician Niels Henrik Abel and directly modeled after the Nobel Prizes.

  • The Abel Prize was established by Oslo govt. in 2002. The purpose is to award Abel Prize for outstanding scientific work in the field of mathematics.

  • The prize amount is 6 million NOK (Norwegian Kroner (about 750,000 Euro) and was awarded for the first time in 2003.

  • This Abel Prize is considered to be equivalent to the Nobel Prize in Mathematics.

Former Recipients

  • Robert Langlands in 2018- An American-Canadian Mathematician

  • Yves Meyer in 2017 from France

  • Andrew Wiles in 2016 from Unted Kingdom

  • Louis Nirenber in 2015 - An American-Canadian Mathematician

  • Yakov Sinai in 2014 from Russia

  • Pierre Deligne in 2013 from Belgium

- Published/Last Modified on: July 15, 2019

Education, International Relations/Organizations, Awards

Doorsteptutor material for CLAT GK-Current-Affairs is prepared by worlds top subject experts- fully solved questions with step-by-step exaplanation- practice your way to success.

Developed by: